CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jul 06, 2002, 11:41 PM
son349 son349 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 36
Default Having Problems With My New Computer

sponsored links

 
I got my new hp pavilion 7920 around the middle of June, and already I've been having problems. Just last week, I couldn't open anything, not my internet, nothing. I had to use my system recovery discs, and thank god I didn't lose my hours of video and audio I have on it. It gave me a choice on keeping my documents or starting it all over. Not that long ago, (just about an hour ago) I tried to open up my Adaptec CD creator to make a cd and it won't open. Probably tomorrow I know nothing will open for me, and I'll have to run the recovery discs, and again I will be afraid I lose my audio and video I have. Right now I have some I want to put on a cd, but like I said I can't open my Adaptec CD Creator.

Here's some things that may have caused the problem for me:

Whenever I get on the internet, popups and different things will open and my computer will get very busy, sometimes it will give me an error and have to shut down (the internet) My computer seems to be too busy a lot of the time when I just have one program I'm working on (Grokster)

A few times I've had to shut the computer down by pulling the plug becuase the computer would completely freeze up and won't be able to do anything.

Sometimes to start my computer I'll just start it, and may go do something else and forget about it, and when I come back, my monitor will have automatically shut down, just like it's supposed too, but won't come back on. Then I have know choice but to litteraly pull the plug to start it over again.

Something that may cause problems is when I'm online I'll have Grokster running and surf the net at the same time.

I also have lots of programs on the computer I don't use.

When I first started the computer, and it asked me for what internet connection I wanted, I had AOL, just to get on and download Netzero, and now that I have Netzero, I've never used AOL, I've actually deleted it (Don't have a screen name on AOL, used somebody elses) My computer used to annoyingly start AOL automatically (which took along time) and I think me deleting it caused some problem. Oh, Default, that's the word I've been looking for, I had AOL as my default internet connection but deleted AOL totally, and I think that may have caused problems, I also don't know how to set Netzero as my default internet connection.

I know my post was long, and kind of hard to read, but if anybody has any suggestions for me please let me know. I've really been doing my best to keep my computer working good. I even keep clear bags over the monitor and the actual computer <(don't know the name for it) to keep dust out (had problems with dust on PS2) Again please help me!

Last edited by son349; Jul 06, 2002 at 11:45 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jul 06, 2002, 11:58 PM
uk_trader uk_trader is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,103
Default

Run a spyware detector such as ad aware www.lavasoft.com the pop up thingy when you begin an intewrnet session Is a symtom of spyware and spyware can hinder your computer. Im not sure but i think grockster could be your culprit.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jul 07, 2002, 03:54 AM
mikey99 mikey99 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,168
Default

that spyware detector is spot on , i had 38 thingys running i never knewabout

:-)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jul 07, 2002, 09:56 AM
(hed) (hed) is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 58
Default

mate it could be the stuff AOL installs on your computer but doesnt delete when you uninstall it! i have recently changed over to freeserve and they tell u how to delete EVERYTHING aol installs goto ***********.freeserve.co.uk and look for it as i have lost the link sorry
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jul 08, 2002, 01:28 AM
son349 son349 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 36
Default

I haven't had to run the system restore discs yet, but have had to pull the plug to shut it down a few times.

I'm downloading something from the site uktrader gave me, I hope this helps..

Also does anybody know how to get my Adaptec CD Creator to start working again?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer help BIG_POPPA_PUMP Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Dec 03, 2003 08:15 PM
Computer Question Immortal_Dragon Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 Sep 19, 2003 01:50 PM
Harddrive problems [Fujitsu Siemens; PIII800; ] SMID Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Oct 12, 2002 06:51 PM
Two computer hooked up to network but can't use dsl on both. Brandono Computer Networking & Security 6 Oct 01, 2002 10:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:27 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved