CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #25  
Old Jul 15, 2002, 12:45 PM
nicnic65 nicnic65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 332
Default

sponsored links

 
thats how it started
i went to load some software on (running win 98 at the time)
the hard drive only showed 2 gig I knew it was 10 gig
I went into fdisk and it had somehow partitioned itself
primary dos C: 2 gig and non primary 8 gig But the 8 gig didnt have a drive letter
So i fdisked deleted both partitions and made 1 large It originally had 1 partition cos it was me that did that a while ago
Thats why i tend to think its some kind of hardware prob
not very techie so everything is a guess my end
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old Jul 15, 2002, 01:58 PM
Nuttapper Nuttapper is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,253
Default

Hi nicnic65, so when you repartitioned the drives, what format did you use
was it fat or ntfs? open up my computer, single right click the c:\ drive choose properties and the file allocation table (fat) type should be given under the name of file system
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old Jul 15, 2002, 04:09 PM
nicnic65 nicnic65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 332
Default

i used fat originally when i formated and loaded win 98 and tried to instal xp over that
Then when that didnt work i did a clean instal and used ntfs
got the same dll errors both times
Guess i will be getting on your t*ts soon LOL
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old Jul 15, 2002, 04:23 PM
Caterman Caterman is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In front of computer most of the time
Posts: 605
Default

Silly question i know, but you did say yes to "enable large disk support" when prompted?
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old Jul 16, 2002, 12:30 PM
nicnic65 nicnic65 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 332
Default

yes certainly did m8
not a silly question cos it does happen
the first time i tried to fdisk i couldnt do it tried and tried in the end had to get a bloke in cost me 40 cos i typed fdisc
felt such a f**king idiot
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old Jul 16, 2002, 07:41 PM
Caterman Caterman is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In front of computer most of the time
Posts: 605
Default

Running out of ideas now!

Have you got another PC to swap the hard drive into and try it, could be a case of trial and error now. If you have you can swap each component in turn, ram, mobo, hard drive etc. It is difficult to pinpoint problems when the PC is not in front of you to see what it is actually doing.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help plz - backup of backup - probs. milosh Dreamcast 10 Jul 07, 2003 04:56 PM
Internet probs...plz look in. [; ; win98] bcfcben Windows 98 9 Feb 25, 2003 05:10 PM
ao5 copying dvd probs plz help GETdown DVD 5 Dec 20, 2002 11:57 AM
just upgraded firmware and having major prob's HELP PLZ... cableguyz DVD 2 Nov 14, 2002 06:46 PM
sonic foundry probs plz help sc0tsman DVD 0 Aug 01, 2002 09:21 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:08 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved