CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - Xbox > Xbox Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Jul 23, 2002, 02:04 PM
marsbarbabe marsbarbabe is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 784
Default

sponsored links

 
Thanks guys for your help!

I will try re-doing it tonight (sigh)

backup2k1 (Hi)

you say -

'make sure that the board inside the xbox is pushed down'

- Out of interest what difference does this make? - I was trying the whole thing outside of the Xbox case, so as to make sure it all worked before fitting and screwing it back together?

Does the metal chassis inside the Xbox 'ground' some parts in some way, if so where does it need to be grounded.

I ask because I was hoping to put it in side my PC case for the sake of tidyness.

I made sure (about 20 times) that all AV leads etc. were plugged in properly

You also say -

'dont forget to set the bios time up too for the box' - I'm not sure what you mean by this? - Do you mean just set the day and date on the dashboard of the Xbos or is there something else I have missed?

Thank you all for your help.

I will let you know how it goes tonight. Hopefully I won;t be up until 6am again like last time LOL!

Cheers!
MBB
[email]marsbarbabe@yahoo.com[/email]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Jul 23, 2002, 03:33 PM
Game Master Game Master is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Neptune NJ USA
Posts: 250
Default

all you really need to do is look at your diagrams and check your points. i hope you put different colored wires on because this is where it comes in handy. just give each spot a little push, one by one until you either find, a loose connection or a crossed wire. make sure you have no solder bridging another spot and definately check points 20 and 21. these two spots have giving me a little trouble because there not presoldered pads but sections on the board that require a little more heating for the solder to flow. your xbox isnt broken, just unusable at the moment.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Jul 23, 2002, 07:01 PM
marsbarbabe marsbarbabe is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 784
Default

Hmmm

Midnight is here and I have managed to de-solder everything to start again.

JOY!!!!

And now, several pads came off the motherboard.

I must have been mad to think that I could do this LOL! (sob)

I'm gonna see if the people I bought it from will chip it for m. I heard that a few missing pads is not too much of a problem?

Deary me - So many hours wasted!

Nevermind, thanks for all your help guys - It was well appreciated.


Cheers and good luck to all those who try it themselves !!
MBB

Last edited by the3jams; Jul 23, 2002 at 07:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Jul 26, 2002, 07:06 PM
mwaytena mwaytena is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 69
Default

I just installed my beta enigmah and I am having the exact same problem. My question is would it be possible to cut just one or two wires to disable the chip and see if my Xbox is still working properly. Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 10:06 AM
Mr Bootleg Mr Bootleg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 10
Default

somebody said that 15 and 21....but you'll have to search for that.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 09:41 PM
marsbarbabe marsbarbabe is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 784
Default

No joy

BUT my BF did have a nice chat with mrmodchips and I posted it to him and after 2 days it was back with me all fixed and working!!!

A BIG thanks to him for his help!
What a great guy!

MBB
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NEW InterVideo DVD Copy! Lazza DVD 5 Jun 04, 2003 06:36 AM
VCD Terms - GiGaDaNcE_2 VideoCD 3 Apr 17, 2002 10:49 AM
VCD to DVD: HELP PLEASE dodgyfeas DVD 3 Mar 24, 2002 05:01 AM
DVD-R on a Mac Plucky223 Mac User 13 Mar 08, 2002 10:00 AM
VCD "labels" bluebristol VideoCD 3 Feb 11, 2002 03:08 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved