CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows NT
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jul 23, 2002, 11:26 AM
maxdod02 maxdod02 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12
Question Invalid System Disk- Error Message [; ; winNT4]

sponsored links

 
I have an Epox motherboard and I have just started getting an "invalid system disk" message when booting up. I have switched the starting sequence of the boot disks in the bios but still get the message. Has anyone seen this before? Has my motherboard bit the dust? Any help would be appreciated. My board: MVP 3G2 Award bios v. 3.51. Thanks in advance.
  #2  
Old Jul 23, 2002, 11:31 AM
djgarfpsx1 djgarfpsx1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 119
Default

the boot partition is corrupt on your hard drive!!
format and start again
  #3  
Old Jul 23, 2002, 12:57 PM
jspr57 jspr57 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: London, England.
Posts: 1,149
Default

Issue: Invalid / Non System Disk error.

Cause: This error can be caused by one or more of the following possibilities:

Floppy or CD that is not bootable is currently in the computer.
Hard disk drive does not have bootable files on it.
CMOS is not setup properly.
The hard disk drive is bad or not connected properly.

Solution:

Floppy or CD that is not bootable is currently in the computer: Verify that no floppy diskette or CD is currently in the computer. If a diskette or CD is in the computer that is not bootable your computer may attempt to boot from that diskette or CD causing this error message.

Hard disk drive does not have bootable files on it: It is possible that command.com or another bootable file may be missing from the hard disk drive. Follow the below steps to possible resolve your issue.

Boot from a bootable floppy diskette. At the A:\> type fdisk <press enter>
If you receive a message no fixed disk present read Hard Disk drive is bad or not connected properly. If you are able to get into fdisk, choose option 4 to display the partition information. In the partition information, if the System is listed as FAT16 or FAT32 then continue to step 5. If you have a message indicating no partitions defined, no information is on your hard disk drive and you will need to create a new partition. See our fdisk page for additional information.

If you see FAT16 or FAT32 in fdisk press the ESC key until back at the A:\>
Once at the A:\> type, sys c: <press enter> (only do this command if you are using the same operating system that this diskette was created on).
This should return a message 'System Transferred', if you receive bad command or file name and have verified you have type the command properly you will need to obtain a bootable diskette with the file sys.com on it. If system was transferred successfully, reboot the computer and issue should be resolved.

CMOS is not setup properly: Verify that your hard disk drive is setup properly in CMOS and if CMOS has bootable options verify that the hard disk drive is listed in the bootable options.

The hard disk drive is bad or not connected properly: If you have attempted all above suggestions and you are still encountering the same issues. Verify the connections are properly connected to the computer if the hard drive was recently installed or the computer was moved. Unfortunately if all connections are setup properly and all the above recommendations have been attempted it is likely that the hard disk drive is bad.

Regards

Last edited by jspr57; Jul 23, 2002 at 01:01 PM.
  #4  
Old Jul 23, 2002, 01:53 PM
gooner gooner is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,795
Default

maxdod02 listen to jspr57 - format and start again should always be the last resort -
jspr57 has got the answer down to a tee (Not surprising a man of his knowledge and calibre) and you will also notice that jspr57 has laso left the "The hard disk drive is bad or not connected properly. " aspect/explanation as the last thing, if all of the above fails then format and start again, but go through what jspr57 said and in that order
  #5  
Old Jul 23, 2002, 08:34 PM
maxdod02 maxdod02 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12
Default

I got it! Thanks for all your help!
  #6  
Old Jul 24, 2002, 05:33 AM
gooner gooner is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,795
Default

maxdod02, what was it then?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
invalid system disk error even when floppy is not connected help? F~uzZ Open to All Computer Related Topics 11 Jan 25, 2004 03:24 AM
Burned disk works on some systems, but not others? [Artec; WRR-52x; win98SE] chort CD-R & CD-RW 3 May 05, 2003 04:30 AM
WIin 98 computer only boots with win 95 boot disk PS2Dude!! Open to All Computer Related Topics 18 Nov 07, 2002 04:53 PM
I have HP Biro BA400 with a 66mhz FSB 433hmz celeron and want to upgrade, can I use.. DTUK Open to All Computer Related Topics 8 Oct 04, 2002 09:25 PM
MultiSession disk problem with Nero Patroclus CD-R & CD-RW 1 Apr 12, 2002 01:56 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved