CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 11, 2002, 03:17 AM
xiontex xiontex is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 392
Lightbulb Wanna Do Ps2 Switch

sponsored links

 
Hey everybody. My ps2 is a version 4 ps2. It works fine and i do the no-mod knife method. Its getting kinda old (the ps2) and i wanna do a switch. The problem is if there is like a version 6 ps2 out and they check my serial number and they find out its a version 4. The place i wanna do it is at a Costco. They take everything. What they have is a ps2 kit. Comes with 1 extra controller the ps2, 2 games and a mem card. I wanna put my old ps2 in place of the new one. Will they check there? Its not tampered with and still works fine. I can make it look new. Pretty sure that they scan a seperate upc but not sure. IF anybody has done this please point me where 2 go. I am nervous as hell.

Will the thing scan correctly becuase it think the upc on the bottom of the ps2 is different than the new ones.

Any way the whole reason i am doing this is because i wanna chip my ps2. Tired of the no-mod.



  #2  
Old Aug 11, 2002, 09:30 AM
gh0zt gh0zt is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: san jose, ca.
Posts: 310
Default

chip your version 4. i got the neo 2.5 dvd key on mine. works like a charm and cheap.
  #3  
Old Aug 11, 2002, 12:13 PM
crazyguy crazyguy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Liverpool, England
Posts: 858
Default

If it works fine, why do you wanna swap it anyway?

crazyguy
  #4  
Old Aug 11, 2002, 12:38 PM
X_calibur X_calibur is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada
Posts: 725
Default

i bet all stores have version 7 ps2 now
  #5  
Old Aug 11, 2002, 01:11 PM
D Soldier D Soldier is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Posts: 47
Default

What you basically do is buy a new PS2 and then switch the tops of both of you're PS2s. Take you're top and stick it on the new PS2, then take the new top off of the new PS2 and put it on yours. The flat cable is one plastic peice that can be removed and out back in without any problems. The reason for this is because the serial is located on the top half. Also remember to keep all other cables/ect. unopened and carefully remove that sticker on top of the PS2 box. Also clean you're old PS2 a bit so it does look new. Put the supposedly new PS2 back in the wrapping and return everything for a full refund because it's unopened. I suggest you don't pay with credit card or check but with cash (it really doesn't matter).
  #6  
Old Aug 11, 2002, 03:04 PM
smokafatty smokafatty is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 524
Default

You'd be better off keeping the v4. It is alot easier to chip and has more modchips available than the newer versions.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does anyone wanna sell their ps2 socom headset ples msg me thx DiddyAJ Video Game Backup - PS2 1 Apr 06, 2003 08:20 PM
help! ps2 wont switch on no lights on reset button thegame1to8 Video Game Backup - PS2 8 Mar 19, 2003 02:44 PM
PS2 V4 no solder + swap magic vcbb53 Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Jan 29, 2003 08:02 PM
magic 3 switch Redogs5 Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Jan 20, 2003 01:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved