CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 20, 2002, 12:10 AM
GhostHand GhostHand is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8
Angry Magic 2 and Action Replay won't boot backups with cheat codes

sponsored links

 
I have a NTSC 30001R with a Magic 2 chip installed. The setup works great, I have no problems at all with playing backups. But what I'm having problems with is playing backups with codes. I have a Action Replay version 2 and a Code Breaker and I've tried numerous times to play my backups with the cheat codes on but it just won't work.

From my understanding the Magic 2 is supposed have a solder point on the board(which I soldered myself) which would enable you to use your cheat device (Gameshark or Action Replay). Everytime I try to load a backup with Action Replay whether it has cheats on or off, it freezes. With Code Breaker, I'll get an "error, failed to boot" message.

Has anyone had success with this setup? Is there something I'm doing wrong? All I want to do is play my backups with cheat codes enabled, nothing more.
  #2  
Old Aug 20, 2002, 06:03 AM
Dave2986 Dave2986 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,438
Default

if you are trying to play backups of them without the card (that goes in the memory port) then you carnt

as the cheats are on the card.

if you arnt then it might be the games. email the person who sold you them or try it on a ps2 that has a different chip
  #3  
Old Sep 13, 2002, 04:59 AM
pengch pengch is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
Default

I have a PS2 39001 with Magic 2 installed. I tried to use Gameshark 1.9 (with card in the memory port) to boot my DVD-R backups, but the system freeze. Anyone has success to use gameshark or Action Replay cheat code with Magic 2?
  #4  
Old Sep 13, 2002, 10:16 AM
ps2daddy ps2daddy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,154
Default Re: Magic 2 and Action Replay won't boot backups with cheat codes

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by GhostHand [/i]
[B]I have a NTSC 30001R with a Magic 2 chip installed. The setup works great, I have no problems at all with playing backups. But what I'm having problems with is playing backups with codes. I have a Action Replay version 2 and a Code Breaker and I've tried numerous times to play my backups with the cheat codes on but it just won't work.

From my understanding the Magic 2 is supposed have a solder point on the board(which I soldered myself) which would enable you to use your cheat device (Gameshark or Action Replay). Everytime I try to load a backup with Action Replay whether it has cheats on or off, it freezes. With Code Breaker, I'll get an "error, failed to boot" message.

Has anyone had success with this setup? Is there something I'm doing wrong? All I want to do is play my backups with cheat codes enabled, nothing more. [/B]
Was your magic chip the R version with the red pcb or orange pcb or was it a version 7 Red or orange PC

look at www.china-magic.com and check out the news section and start about a five weeks back and read until now. It has an explanation of which ones work or dont work with the Gamesharks
  #5  
Old Sep 13, 2002, 11:37 AM
handyguy handyguy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Monterey, Calif
Posts: 9,647
Default

Mod Chips & Installation, Issues, Installers Etc. :
***********.cdrom-guide.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=40
  #6  
Old Sep 13, 2002, 04:05 PM
Jaice Jaice is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5,556
Default

The old magic chips don't work with gamesharks, you need the red one, not the blue or green one
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DO any cheat devics boot backups with V7/no solder/Swap magic? Trance Jasper Video Game Backup - PS2 2 Jun 22, 2005 11:41 AM
Release dates to wet your whistle :) Azooma01 Video Game Backup - PS2 19 Oct 05, 2003 10:24 PM
AR2 V2....spinning disc for all eternity... edwoodwoodwood Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Feb 28, 2003 07:23 PM
So you can't boot dvd-r with neo 2.2 and ar? phAntAsY Video Game Backup - PS2 22 Feb 18, 2003 05:49 AM
How to boot CD/DVD backups using Neo2.x banzai_uk Video Game Backup - PS2 2 Jun 06, 2002 12:59 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:07 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved