CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 24, 2002, 10:17 PM
Aggmann Aggmann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 82
Question What is BEST PS2 chip for Version 1?

sponsored links

 
I am trying to decide which chip to use with my PS2, the problem is that I have a version 1. I am currently using the knife trick but dont want a chip that I will have to use the Gameshark. Can anyone help me? I hear that Magic II is the best but it does not work with a version 1. Please reply immediately. Thank you for your assistance.

Aggie
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Aug 24, 2002, 10:24 PM
Bgnome Bgnome is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 613
Default

magic2 does work with a v1. you just need the right chip and the right diagrams
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Aug 25, 2002, 11:25 AM
handyguy handyguy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Monterey, Calif
Posts: 9,647
Default

I been using the neokey for two years, works great on my v1, you have to swap--but on a machine that old, you may not want to invest $120 on a no swap chip.

Also, post & read this:
***********.cdrom-guide.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=40
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Aug 25, 2002, 12:52 PM
Aggmann Aggmann is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 82
Default

Thank you for your help. I definetely do not want to invest into a swap trick. I would rather get a no swap chip. I have been looking into a magic II version 3 chip, but do I have to know the right diagrams?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Aug 26, 2002, 08:50 PM
a2n4 a2n4 is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 29
Default

magic chip. direct boot everything
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Aug 26, 2002, 10:10 PM
madison mods madison mods is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 797
Default

Magic chip is kind of hard to install in a v1 though. You need to desolder the power supply from the main board and it's a real *****.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Truly Solderless Ps2 Chip? elcochino6 Video Game Backup - PS2 5 Mar 09, 2003 03:34 PM
Is it possible for a mod chip to kill a PS2? aznkidlee Video Game Backup - PS2 1 Mar 03, 2003 08:26 PM
WTF: PS2 No-swap Blue Chip diuleh Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Aug 16, 2002 11:13 PM
PS2 V5 Chip "No Solder" Mod Chip Installation Help! mobozz Video Game Backup - PS2 4 May 12, 2002 12:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved