CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > DVD
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #25  
Old Oct 24, 2002, 11:26 AM
AnTrax AnTrax is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: arround
Posts: 0
Default

sponsored links

 
Quote:
[i]Originally posted by Attreu [/i]
[B]Can anyone confirm the update removes the region lock from a 104? [/B]
Check ***********.oradvd.com/ to find all updates on pioneer104 ....
also ***********.pioneerelectronics.com/hs/pioneer.html

  #26  
Old Oct 31, 2002, 04:55 AM
paulos paulos is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 246
Default

The update to 1.32 has not unlocked my pioneer 104 drive to region free
  #27  
Old Oct 31, 2002, 11:39 AM
uk_trader uk_trader is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,103
Default

Sorry if Ive caused any confusion it locks the region to its current setting not unlocks it.

P.S thats what Ive heard anyway.
  #28  
Old Nov 02, 2002, 10:31 PM
timoros timoros is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Greece
Posts: 703
Default

the ***********.vnunet.com/News/1135194 url doesn't work for me..
  #29  
Old Nov 03, 2002, 01:17 AM
celtic_druid celtic_druid is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Melbourne,Vic,Australia
Posts: 15,160
Default

Probably because it's old news. Don't think that I ever read it, but I'm sure it would have said something along the lines of:

A03/103 and A04/104 burners had a bug where if you inserted any highspeed media (4X DVD-R or 2X DVD-RW) the drive didn't know what to do, it would freeze and the laser pickups, etc. would eventually burn out. Not clear whether they would actually catch fire, either way it is NOT a good thing.

The new firmware updates stop the drive from freezing, however they don't let you burn highspeed media at full speed.

Unless you use some highspeed media, then you have nothing to worry about with older firmware versions.
  #30  
Old Nov 05, 2002, 10:09 AM
handyguy handyguy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Monterey, Calif
Posts: 9,647
Default

Sonystyle.com has info on it. They said it happens with about every third time you put a high speed disk in. Only blank disks. Plus, Sony gives you a new drive if something happens to it from these disks ( to the a03/04 in your Vaio....)
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mico Diamante 3000 firmaware update, where can i get it? VX220 DVD 0 Apr 26, 2003 03:38 PM
Windows Update Ferret76 Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Aug 06, 2002 10:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:13 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved