CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Sep 21, 2002, 01:37 AM
madison mods madison mods is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 797
Default Anyone else seen this trouble???

sponsored links

 
The trouble is with a v4r US PS2 system with the R/V5 Apple mod. What happens is the system loads fine, all DVDR and CDR... for a while. The boot rate slowly goes down with subsequent boots. CDR seems to last longer, you can only load one or two DVDRs without then going to the red screen. I tried a new laser and that didn't have any change. I also tried a new chip (and of course checked the install, it's good). If you turn the system off and wait a while, you can boot again sucessfully. And I don't think it's a heat issue, if you load a DVDR or CDR you can play for hours without trouble. Has anyone ever seen a trouble like this???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Sep 21, 2002, 01:50 AM
Snoopy007 Snoopy007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
Default

are u using the method shown at www.geocities.com/apple_chip88

also is this true for v4 1c as well?

is this true also for other v4r u tried?

Last edited by Snoopy007; Sep 21, 2002 at 01:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Sep 21, 2002, 01:53 AM
madison mods madison mods is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 797
Default

Yeah, I've tried every booting method. I usually do the eject-reset simplified boot, but the other doesn't work either. (except for the first several times... then the ratio goes slowly down until it's less than 10% booting)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Sep 21, 2002, 01:55 AM
Snoopy007 Snoopy007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
Default

also is this true for v4 1c as well?

is this true also for other v4r u tried?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Sep 21, 2002, 02:00 AM
Snoopy007 Snoopy007 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 290
Default

have u tried installing directly to the dvd controller rather than to the alternative points they gave?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Sep 21, 2002, 02:05 AM
madison mods madison mods is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 797
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by Snoopy007 [/i]
[B]also is this true for v4 1c as well?

is this true also for other v4r u tried? [/B]
I'm not sure what you mean. This is one unit having the trouble, it's a v4 1C. It has the 30001r apple chip in it for that system. As for the points, you are referring to 13-17? I haven't tried moving those... Have you seen trouble like this before with those points?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trouble Games?(i.e Splinter Cell?) klee Video Game Backup - PS2 5 Jun 24, 2004 09:01 AM
TROUBLE coping big TROUBLE in little china? ThE SnAkE DVD 4 Mar 10, 2003 11:30 AM
Trouble with Lycos.co.uk [Mine; AMD.K6.500; winME] Stevie boy Windows ME 2 Feb 10, 2003 08:05 PM
PC WHIZZ'S LOOKIN - Network Trouble at Work "HELP" [; ; winXP] MATRIX 2001 Windows XP 5 Jan 07, 2003 04:34 PM
is anyone else having trouble connecting to DALnet? this side up!!! Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Nov 05, 2002 08:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved