CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Sep 24, 2002, 02:02 PM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Default finding out motherboard type?

sponsored links

 
i currently have 266MHZ but wanna upgrade it if possible to pentium 3 or celeron 600 or 700mhz. if possible.

anyone know any sites which reveal wot type of motherboard u have and the max, processor ur motherboard can accept??

cheers
regards!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Sep 24, 2002, 02:21 PM
zybernut zybernut is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 464
Default

when your computer boots up a lot of numbers appear at the bottom of the screen. this is the bios I.D string

If the motherboard has an AMI BIOS, read the BIOS ID string and cross reference it on the AMI site. AMI has a Motherboard ID Utility which is designed to assist in determining the manufacturer of a motherboard using AMIBIOS that you can download from:
***********.ami.com/support/mbid.html.

If the motherboard has an Award BIOS (now made by Phoenix), go to the "Motherboard Manufacturers" page for a cross-reference of ID numbers and motherboard manufacturers:
***********.phoenix.com/pcuser/phoenixbios/motherboard.html


[email]zybernut@hotmail.com[/email]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Sep 24, 2002, 03:48 PM
Memphis Memphis is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,821
Default

I just want to point out that there is no way the mobo will support a P3 or Celeron if it's currently got a 266Mhz processor. That would date it way before P3 or Celeron technology and I'm almost sure that it won't be compatible.

Still, those sites above will help identify the current mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Sep 24, 2002, 04:34 PM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Default

true. my motherboard is either a intel chipset. 800series or 400 series but i used 2 software packages which told me different versions.

the intel website told me 400 series and an other software called infowin told me 800 series
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Sep 24, 2002, 04:39 PM
Van Nugent Van Nugent is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 6,779
Default

Try [url=***********.3bsoftware.com/downloads/sandra.html]Sandra.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Sep 25, 2002, 09:38 AM
the_hittman the_hittman is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: united kingdom
Posts: 274
Default

wen my computer boots up, it does not display all the numbers like sum computers do.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
error codes on bios graham3278 Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Apr 01, 2003 07:12 PM
Help connecting X-box and finding chip type. Wonker Video Game Backup - Xbox 2 Mar 12, 2003 06:07 AM
Does a computer type determine motherboard type? TheRoach18 Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Sep 26, 2002 05:31 PM
Help finding a good motherboard... VeniVidiVici Consumer's Opinion 6 Jul 28, 2002 07:36 PM
*idiot needs help* making an ISO file Shades_of_Blue Dreamcast 8 Mar 24, 2002 06:07 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:21 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved