CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Oct 15, 2002, 07:20 PM
kenp kenp is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: UK (Midlands)
Posts: 421
Default

sponsored links

 
You could try [url=********mbm.livewiredev.com]Motherboard Monitor it's freeware.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Oct 15, 2002, 08:15 PM
Van Nugent Van Nugent is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: U.S.A.
Posts: 6,779
Default

Yup, get MBM as suggested above. It's a very good freeware. You can also use it with Windows shutdown.exe to shut down your system when the CPU fan gets below the min RPM you set, or when the voltages go out of specs, or when the CPU temp gets above the max temp. I did this for 1 of my Dad's computers and the CPU was saved when the CPU fan unexpectedly failed.

Most overclockers use MBM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Oct 15, 2002, 09:29 PM
ps2wiz ps2wiz is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,867
Default

Electrcity Conducts better in cold conditions, Basically the colder it gets the better, and it doesn't matter how cold.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Oct 15, 2002, 09:43 PM
beardedwonder beardedwonder is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,021
Default

Just wondering if anyone has a ECS K7AMA m/b because MBM doesn't seem to work although i do get temperature readings in my BIOS
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Oct 16, 2002, 04:06 AM
Richskie Richskie is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: England
Posts: 880
Default

It's not quite true that it doesn't matter how cold a system gets.
30c is fine but if you get below about 5c you will start getting condensation which does not mix very well with electronics.

You will probably also find that most of the drives etc are rated by the manufacturer for ambient temp of at least 10c when in use.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Oct 16, 2002, 09:32 PM
MrMP MrMP is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 632
Default

The hardcore overclockers sometimes put the cpu in freezer, just so they can post a few more mhz
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
thinking of returning my motherbord and CPU noamkrief Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 Sep 24, 2009 01:23 AM
what cpu do i have? 85BJ60 Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Mar 09, 2004 01:27 PM
FBS overclocking intel cpu MadDash24_7 Open to All Computer Related Topics 3 Nov 25, 2003 03:55 PM
real life comparison boomtheroom Consumer's Opinion 8 Oct 22, 2002 09:12 PM
MEASURED CPU SPEED...Help? [; ; win2KPro] Albion Windows 2000 5 Oct 06, 2002 03:20 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved