CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Oct 22, 2002, 08:29 AM
Spagboll Spagboll is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Morecambe, Lancashire, England
Posts: 2,187
Default

sponsored links

 
I fitted it mate. The chip is green. Was a strange one..... If the Z point was connected the tray would come out when Eject was pressed but not go back in... If you closed it manually with a disc in the laser wouldn't read it. disconnect the Z point and everything works like a dream....

I've offered to replace the chip for him for free and try that approach but I ain't got any Red PCB ones yet!

I'm doing another V7 machine with the same chip this week, will post what happens. I understand it could be a iffy chip and so does PSM2, thats why I've offered to replace for free including the postage charges...

Mike ( Spagboll ) ...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Oct 22, 2002, 09:32 AM
PSM2 PSM2 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 582
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by Spagboll [/i]
[B]I fitted it mate. The chip is green. Was a strange one..... If the Z point was connected the tray would come out when Eject was pressed but not go back in... If you closed it manually with a disc in the laser wouldn't read it. disconnect the Z point and everything works like a dream....

I've offered to replace the chip for him for free and try that approach but I ain't got any Red PCB ones yet!

I'm doing another V7 machine with the same chip this week, will post what happens. I understand it could be a iffy chip and so does PSM2, thats why I've offered to replace for free including the postage charges...

Mike ( Spagboll ) ... [/B]
thanks spagboll, your the man.

cheers

good luck in your next install
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Oct 22, 2002, 09:39 AM
ps2daddy ps2daddy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,154
Default

Interesting I thought only US ps2's had the gameshark problem that required the z point to be soldered.

I heard that some of the original green/blue clones had problems with the Z point and the gameshark though (but I never fitted one of those so I cant confirm if that is the truth or just a rumor)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Oct 22, 2002, 11:07 AM
Tucano Tucano is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: N Ireland
Posts: 148
Default

approx 2 mths ago i fitted a magic CLONE (Green Board) into a V7 Pal PS2 and got the EXACY same trouble as mentioned above , and sure enough when i disconnected the (Z) GS wire everything worked 100%,

And if anyone wants to know the chip came from LIKSANG
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Oct 22, 2002, 11:28 AM
briny_uk briny_uk is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: manchester
Posts: 623
Default

so.. im meant to be fitting one of these things soon.. to a PAL v7.. whats the best approach to take, psycho jack told me to use the game gizmo short gnd 5 and 3.5 volt wire chip placement (where the wires are no more than 1.5 inches long) but is there anything else?? also where can i get the RED OFFICIAL magic 2 from in the uk (cheapest place ) i dont want to have problems with my install! heh.. but im not gonna connect that z point,. it sounds like an iffy ting!

nick
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Oct 22, 2002, 11:34 AM
Spagboll Spagboll is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Morecambe, Lancashire, England
Posts: 2,187
Default

If your not going to connect the Z point then you'll be o.k with all the Magic2's out there... Z points only for the GS/AR swap. If you ain't going to use it then you've no problem, just don't connect the Z wire..

As for the wiring issue, I fitted the PAL V7 machine as normal, I found no need for the shorter wires, just use a heavier gauge wire and you should be o.k. Never had to do it myself.
Unsure where to get the Red Magic2 PCB... if you find out let me know! I'm sure PSM2 will be chuffed!

Mike ( Spagboll ) ...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Team Magic to release Magic V padawan Video Game Backup - PS2 21 Aug 17, 2003 06:59 PM
Can you use GS/AR codes on a DVDr PS2 game using Swap Magic disk (and AR/GS ?) tyriq Video Game Backup - PS2 1 Apr 08, 2003 07:50 AM
Strange.....Swap Magic boots Gameshark3.0! Discwizard Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Mar 31, 2003 07:11 PM
PS2 V4 no solder + swap magic vcbb53 Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Jan 29, 2003 09:02 PM
Swap Magic Disk Problem superhuman1 Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Dec 04, 2002 08:37 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved