CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > DVD
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Oct 25, 2002, 08:53 AM
.S.O.N.Y.0.0.7. .S.O.N.Y.0.0.7. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 223
Default Ntsc 2 Pal

sponsored links

 
I just rip a NTSC movie that was 7.32gig so it could all fit on a dvd-r with the menus but I thought while I was going through all the process of the guide that the dvd would become region free so I could play it in all my system as PAL which is what region I am, maybe I done something wrong i'm not sure. Anyway I've managed to get it on the dvd-r disc but it's still NTSC is there a quick way now that i've done the long process of encoding it to fit on a dvd-r to make it region free or pal?
  #2  
Old Oct 25, 2002, 09:02 AM
zaa zaa is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 533
Default

what did you rip the film with? I normally use Smartripper and that automatically de-regions the film.
What authoring program did you burn it with?
What does it do when you play it in your dvd player?
  #3  
Old Oct 25, 2002, 09:09 AM
.S.O.N.Y.0.0.7. .S.O.N.Y.0.0.7. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 223
Default

I ripped it with dvd decrypter and also used the same program to burn it to dvd-r. I also used Ifo edit to make it region free but that did'nt seem to work. When I try to play it on my pc or standalond dvd player I get "This player is incompatible with the region marking on this disc"
  #4  
Old Oct 25, 2002, 09:12 AM
.S.O.N.Y.0.0.7. .S.O.N.Y.0.0.7. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 223
Default

the wierd thing is the oringinal movie plays in both pc and standalone, but all I can get on the pc with the back-up is the menu and when I press play I get the above message.
  #5  
Old Oct 25, 2002, 09:30 AM
celtic_druid celtic_druid is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Melbourne,Vic,Australia
Posts: 15,160
Default

The region setting has nothing to do with whether it is NTSC or PAL. Making a R1 NTSC film region free gives you a region free NTSC film. If you want to convert it to PAL then you need to re-encode the video, changing the framerate and frame size.
  #6  
Old Oct 25, 2002, 09:36 AM
.S.O.N.Y.0.0.7. .S.O.N.Y.0.0.7. is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 223
Default

How would I go about doing this Celtic?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DVD toc website Baseballstud10 Video Game Backup - PS2 2 Jun 26, 2003 05:27 PM
CDLoader... what TOC disk to use to play SC2? dias_ragu Video Game Backup - PS2 11 Jun 23, 2003 03:07 PM
NTSC on PAL machine vs. PAL on NTSC machine... HELP!!! Rubinho Video Game Backup - PS2 5 Apr 03, 2003 10:46 PM
Dvd toc site? Baseballstud10 Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Sep 24, 2002 02:41 PM
TOC Size Fortknox Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Jul 10, 2002 01:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved