CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Oct 27, 2002, 06:00 PM
philmeehan philmeehan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: barrow in furness,cumbria,u.k.
Posts: 683
Default

sponsored links

 
I have spoken to people via forums, email etc, who have networked and successfully shared their internet connection using the same modem as mine, so it can be done, just maybe a little trickier.
  #8  
Old Oct 27, 2002, 06:03 PM
Captain Captain is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661
Default

@philmeehan: Well if you've set it up exactly as I said, same workgroup and IPs above and it doesnt ping then I'd suggest maybe one of your network cards or cable is faulty. Unless you have a firewall somewhere, ping should always work.

What does typing ipconfig on the two machines show? Copy and paste the results here. You can do it from a command prompt (start->run->cmd).

@fackyah: The subnet mask should 255.255.255.0 or thereabouts.

All it does is tell your PC which range of IP's are on the local network and which are not. It kinda works backwards, quite hard to explain really.
  #9  
Old Oct 27, 2002, 06:07 PM
fackyah fackyah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 150
Default

okay, anyways, what is ping a pc means???
  #10  
Old Oct 27, 2002, 06:12 PM
Captain Captain is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661
Default

Ping just send a 'packet' of data to a machine and measures how long it takes to get a response back. Its the easiest way to test a connection as all PC's reply by default.
  #11  
Old Oct 27, 2002, 06:15 PM
fackyah fackyah is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 150
Default

sorry to jump in your post but how can I ping another PC...

sorry philmeehan.......
  #12  
Old Oct 27, 2002, 06:16 PM
Captain Captain is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661
Default

Open a command prompt (see above) and just type ping followed by the other PC's hostname or IP.

E.g. ping www.yahoo.com

PS: I'll be back in the morning, got things to do now ;-)

Last edited by Captain; Oct 27, 2002 at 06:25 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyway to keep an adsl connection running in standby? Nokia I Is Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Jan 23, 2004 03:36 AM
Speeding up ADSL Connection TOOL Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jan 11, 2004 01:26 PM
Internet Connection Sharing - ADSL & Win XP/Linux JLGMAX Open to All Computer Related Topics 9 Aug 01, 2003 04:19 PM
Got 2 PC & BT ADSL, would like to share ADSL, pls teach me how would be very grateful Gameplayers Computer Networking & Security 4 Jan 10, 2003 05:54 PM
ADSL Modem with Ethernet connection Desticado Consumer's Opinion 0 Sep 03, 2002 05:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:02 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved