CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #13  
Old Oct 27, 2002, 10:27 PM
CapBlye CapBlye is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 861
Default

sponsored links

 
The post i made was referring to Networking a USB modem through a Router, which cannot be done at this time. This of course is not correct, as ive recently found a router that easily does just that
***********.draytek.co.uk/products/vigor2200usb.html
It may be worth the investment to save you the headaches phil
  #14  
Old Oct 28, 2002, 04:47 AM
Captain Captain is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661
Default

If the machines can't even ping each other then something is setup wrong so a new router won't help.
  #15  
Old Oct 28, 2002, 05:27 AM
philmeehan philmeehan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: barrow in furness,cumbria,u.k.
Posts: 683
Default

I'm not even sure that I need a router, cos like I said, I have spoken to somebody who has managed to share an adsl connection, using the same modem as mine, and I am pretty sure he wasn't using a router.

I reckon the problem lies in me not being able to ping my host computer from the client. Would this be likely to be a problem with the hosts nic card, or the one in the client pc?
  #16  
Old Oct 28, 2002, 07:54 AM
Captain Captain is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,661
Default

Could be either. You could try swapping the nic cards arround and see if ping works the other way round.

You're right, you don't need a router to share the connection unless you want the client PC to be able to use the internet while the host PC is turned off.

Did you try ipconfig from a command prompt like I suggested?
  #17  
Old Oct 28, 2002, 08:51 AM
philmeehan philmeehan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: barrow in furness,cumbria,u.k.
Posts: 683
Default

I haven't done yet, cos I am at work, but I will try it when I get home and post the results here at about 5.15. I'm not bothered anout leaving the host pc on all the time, so i might just see if i can get a refund from the shop i bought it from, cos it seems as if i have just bought a piece of equipment that i don't need.
  #18  
Old Oct 28, 2002, 01:38 PM
philmeehan philmeehan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: barrow in furness,cumbria,u.k.
Posts: 683
Default

Ok, I ran ipconfig on both pcs and here are the results, exactly as they appeared in the dos command window:-

[U]Host PC[/U]

ETHERNET ADAPTOR LAN

connection specific dns suffix:
ip address:192.168.0.1
subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
default gateway:

PPP ADAPTOR BT OPENWORLD (DIAL UP)

connection specific dns suffix:
ip address: 217.34.66.220
subnet mask: 255.255.255.255
default gateway: 217.34.66.220

[U]Client PC[/U]

ETHERNET ADAPTOR LAN

connection specific dns suffix:
ip address: 192.168.0.2
subnet mask: 255.255.255.0
default gateway: 192.168.0.1

I don't know if this is right or not, but that is what I got. Obviously the i.p address of my btopenworld connection will change every time I log on. It says dial up, but it is an adsl connection. One thing that I have always wondered is what is an "always on" dsl connection? Because I still have to bring up the dial up box to connect every time I turn my pc on.

Last edited by philmeehan; Oct 28, 2002 at 01:42 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
anyway to keep an adsl connection running in standby? Nokia I Is Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Jan 23, 2004 03:36 AM
Speeding up ADSL Connection TOOL Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jan 11, 2004 01:26 PM
Internet Connection Sharing - ADSL & Win XP/Linux JLGMAX Open to All Computer Related Topics 9 Aug 01, 2003 04:19 PM
Got 2 PC & BT ADSL, would like to share ADSL, pls teach me how would be very grateful Gameplayers Computer Networking & Security 4 Jan 10, 2003 05:54 PM
ADSL Modem with Ethernet connection Desticado Consumer's Opinion 0 Sep 03, 2002 05:38 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:37 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved