CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Oct 28, 2002, 12:43 AM
whodi101 whodi101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 107
Question Is there a dsl router/hub that does not have a firewall?

sponsored links

 
Yea, is there a dsl router/ hub that i can buy that will share my dsl connection to 2 computers and 1 Playstation 2? I would like to be able to be on my computers and ps2 at the same time, and still be able to play games online with the ps2. I can't connect to others that have a firewall b/c i have a router already that has a firewall. And as you know, two firewall users cannot connect to each other. So is there a such thing w/o a firewall? And if there is not, is there a router that has a firewall, but you can turn it off?
  #2  
Old Oct 28, 2002, 04:24 AM
ElaineM ElaineM is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 3,801
Default

Basically all dsl routers have a firewall. I don't know a thing about connecting your PS2, however you should be able to open the port/ports that you need access to by typing in your browser 192.168. x.x , with the exact address depending on the brand of your router. There will be more instructions on how exactly to do it in the router's manual.
  #3  
Old Oct 29, 2002, 01:49 AM
Tman1966 Tman1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 69
Default

I think you can do this in the DMZ HOST setting.Find the IP of the Playstation and put the IP in the DMZ Host IP Address box and set the interface to WAN.
  #4  
Old Oct 29, 2002, 01:11 PM
zack371 zack371 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 1,944
Default

That is exactly what I would do. . .

As a matter of fact, I think one of my friend's has his ps2 set up that way. He has it set up as the DMZ host in the firewall. (He has a Linksys)

I am going to be at his house tomorrow anyway, so I will double-check how he has it set up.

Zack
  #5  
Old Oct 29, 2002, 03:59 PM
Tman1966 Tman1966 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 69
Default

Hey if that works can I get my old name back....it was just "Tman".
  #6  
Old Oct 30, 2002, 11:58 AM
whodi101 whodi101 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 107
Default

okay, yea that would be great if you check on your friends, the only thing is, i don't know what the IP address of my PS2 is. And i can't check in the interface for my router either. So if you could tell me how to get the IP of the Ps2 that'd be great. Or better yet, have your friend tell you how to do that. Thanx guys. By the way I have a dlink, but still tell me how to do it b/c i might go out and buy a linksys instead if that works.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone help me out with my MSN DSL? SweteG Open to All Computer Related Topics 3 May 12, 2007 04:11 PM
windows xp firewall, norton firewall, & emule jerkwheat Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Mar 09, 2004 04:18 PM
Question concerning Network adaptor and dsl Dafranchise69 Video Game Backup - PS2 1 Sep 24, 2002 12:18 PM
DirecTV DSL Gateway Question>> LiLViEtDuDe917 Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Apr 30, 2002 10:53 PM
Tiny Personal Firewall zack371 Computer Networking & Security 2 Apr 14, 2002 01:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:29 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved