CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Dec 02, 2002, 06:22 AM
rabby2 rabby2 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,773
Default hard drive possibly faulty - how do i test it


 
hi
the hard drive in my dads pc seems to be playing up , i suspect it is the hard drive but i would like to know a way to test it to be sure its faulty before i replace it for him , how can i do this ? It wont boot into windows so would running scandisk be suffice or is there another utility i can put on a floppy to test the hard drive ?

Problem started when it would not boot into windows , booting into dos and using scandisk found many errors , i formatted the hard drive and done a fresh install for him and it was ok and scandiak found no errors after this , a week later its back to not booting to windows , does this sound as though the hard drive is losing data or something like that , if so how do i test it ?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Dec 02, 2002, 09:53 AM
duffy90210 duffy90210 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 5,704
Default

Rabby
You can download utilities from the HDD's manufacture's website to test the drive's health and status.
These utilts will test the drives at hardware level, so if it comes back clean, at least you know its a softwareor setup problem.

HTH
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Dec 02, 2002, 10:29 AM
rabby2 rabby2 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,773
Default

cheerz i think its an ibm but will check and make sure and try their utility to test it , cheerz m8 .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Dec 03, 2002, 07:04 AM
prince midas prince midas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: England
Posts: 54
Default

My son had 3 drives going down one after the other in the last month.
All IBM.
It appears a bad batch of IBM are around.
Changed to Maxtor and problem vanished.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Dec 03, 2002, 10:24 AM
rabby2 rabby2 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,773
Default

its a fujitsu , will need to download a utility from there , cheerz guys .
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can use a toggle switch to turn off my second hard drive when it's not in use? bnbhoha Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 Sep 03, 2007 06:13 PM
Installing a hard drive, NTFS or FAT32 StandardBMX Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Jan 09, 2006 09:26 AM
xbox hd and iso program SD_DRACULA Video Game Backup - Xbox 10 May 21, 2003 05:06 PM
Need help, Hard drive upgrading question Kaizerboy Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Jun 29, 2002 09:48 AM
Second hard drive in Windows XP catlitter Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 Jun 21, 2002 03:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved