CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #19  
Old Dec 06, 2002, 02:40 PM
madison mods madison mods is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 797
Default

sponsored links

 
Moddogs, that is COMPLETELY untrue. I've had BRAND NEW v7s that won't read Princos that will read fine on my v4. True, the v7 should be able to read even discs that older ones can't, but this is not always the case. And why wouldn't you try one Verbatim or some sort of decent media before ripping apart your system to replace the chip??? That makes no sense.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old Dec 06, 2002, 04:29 PM
barracuda barracuda is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Pa, USA
Posts: 1,023
Default

I'd have to agree with moddogs. I've done about 10 systems with the Apple chip and all work fine with Princo's. They were v4, v5, v6 & v7's.

If you're sure it's a media problem, un-mod it, sell it on eGay and buy a new system that will read Princos...why pay $4 - $5 for a blank dvd-r when you can pay $0.60 - $1.00?

I would try replacing the chip since you tested all the points. I heard someone saying the first batch had problems with dvd9's so maybe they had trouble with dvd-r too.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old Dec 06, 2002, 04:41 PM
rAsTamAn rAsTamAn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 267
Default

well... what I think I'm going to do for now is wait until I've got some better media. Then if that doesn't work, I'm going to try replacing the chip (with another magic3 - seeing as I got a bunch of them ). If that still doesn't work... well I don't know. Maybe I'll bug modchip.ca to try and refund these frickin' sh*t chips. Do you guys think they should be responsible for replacing these chips? I'm certain it's not a problem with the install. I've gone over EVERYTHING MANY times.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old Dec 06, 2002, 08:47 PM
BadOmen BadOmen is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,054
Default

I have to agree with madison with this one. Sony isn't consistance with their lasers. Back in the PSX days you would never find two systems with the POTS adjusted to the same position.

rAsTamAn, they SHOULD replace/refund you but I doubt they will (they are dicks if you ask me). I would say get them to exchange it with something better but they don't carry anything to upgrade to.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old Dec 06, 2002, 10:08 PM
uncle pokey uncle pokey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Default

rAsTamAn, its interesting that you got your chip from Modchip.ca. I did too and I have basically the same problem also in a brand new V7. I have nearly done everything that you did too to fix it. I have been trying to get Modchip.ca to give me a RMA all week. They are not responding to me. Good luck.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old Dec 07, 2002, 02:36 PM
rAsTamAn rAsTamAn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 267
Default

I'm going to try some different media first and if that doesn't work, I'm gonna throw another chip into it. And if that still doeesn't solve the problem, then I'm gonna get on modchip.ca's case and try and get a refund or something. But I'll let ya guys know how I make out.

Cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edited Upuro modchip faq...lets get things straight ! Channel Tech Video Game Backup - PS2 10 May 06, 2002 11:09 AM
DVDr booting question quoc2 Video Game Backup - PS2 15 Apr 30, 2002 05:15 PM
Unknown Mod Chip ???? Please help joelasso Video Game Backup - PS2 5 Apr 09, 2002 10:36 PM
Can you boot DVDr movies w/o a chip or swapping?? Berns Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Apr 03, 2002 05:33 PM
dvdr booting with neo 4 chip required chunkymike Video Game Backup - PS2 1 Mar 20, 2002 04:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved