CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Dec 16, 2002, 01:15 AM
habit habit is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Angry Who's having problems with Magic 3?

sponsored links

 
I just chipped my PS2 version 7 with a Magic 3 modchip, and CD-Rs play fine, but DVD-R backups either don't boot or freeze during play. Anyone else having these problems? Any suggestions? Should I go for a Messiah 2?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Dec 16, 2002, 11:41 AM
rAsTamAn rAsTamAn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 267
Default

I have so far found the magic3 chips to be unreliable when it comes to dvdrs. I've come across about 3 machines with that problem. Even brand new machines. But I have found that if you give the reset button a double-tap, it seems to boot them much better.

Just throwing ideas out for ya...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Dec 16, 2002, 06:09 PM
diskdocx diskdocx is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,009
Default

I can't see that this has anything to do with the chip. If certain types of dvdr won't boot, its much more likely that the laser is being picky, not the chip. Once the game has booted, the chip has no further effect so if the game freezes it has nothing to do with the chip.

If it was the chip, then nothing would boot at all.

For the record, my v7 with magic boots dvd-r, dvd-rw and dvd+rw.

Use better quality media, and this problem should resolve
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Dec 16, 2002, 06:30 PM
linblbcc linblbcc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 6
Default

My Japanese PS2 SCHP-30000 works fine.
BUT the only problem I have is that I can not use DVD region X to watch US DVD. It just stops the monitor when I swap to US DVD.
Maybe I need to buy a US PS2 to watch DVD.
Does anyone have problems to use DVD region X??
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Dec 19, 2002, 01:11 PM
msmonteal msmonteal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Posts: 363
Default

I might have to dissagree with you. I just bought a magic3 ps2 premod (v7, brand new) and mine is also having a lot of problems, including freezing sometimes after it has booted. I have tried using Prince (cheap I know), TDK, Sony and Verbatim media. Sometimes they boot, sometimes they don't and once in a while they freeze after booting. I use nero and burn at 1x.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Dec 19, 2002, 06:14 PM
Jaice Jaice is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 5,556
Default

Some Magic 3's have problems with certains PS2's, it could be the media, laser, or the copy.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did Magic 3.1 fix booting CD problems? matt_machin Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Mar 06, 2003 10:08 AM
WEIRD!! magic 3.1 problems LynkenPark Video Game Backup - PS2 12 Mar 02, 2003 10:00 AM
Swap Magic Disk Problem superhuman1 Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Dec 04, 2002 07:37 PM
PS2 V.7 & Magic 2chip.... looking for definitive answers VAF PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 8 Oct 29, 2002 11:58 AM
Magic 2 for PS2 version 4 - Anyone have problems or sucess? billmill PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 8 Oct 19, 2002 06:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:42 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved