CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Dec 19, 2002, 06:34 PM
msmonteal msmonteal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Posts: 363
Default

sponsored links

 
Does the chip itself mess with the strength of the laser or something. It seems that I am not the only one that is having these odd problems. I guess I should have went with the Mesiah 2.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Dec 19, 2002, 07:44 PM
rAsTamAn rAsTamAn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 267
Default

I think for $100cdn, the resellers should be responsible for a 'recall' once they fix these damn magic chips. If you're paying $100 for a chip, it better damn well work.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Dec 19, 2002, 10:46 PM
habit habit is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 5
Default

i just tried a new media type and it won't boot at all. I'm going to return this piece of crap Magic 3 and get a Messiah 2. It can't be any worse than what I'm going through right now. Has anyone had problems with the Messiah chip?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Dec 19, 2002, 11:37 PM
Rice Rice is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 372
Default

i have a magic 3 and im very satisfied. i ONLY buy apple dvdrs and they all work great. I only use memorex or tdk media for cdrs. Do not buy pine, cursor or other crap media, it wrecks your laser and then the modchip gets blamed
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Dec 20, 2002, 09:18 AM
rAsTamAn rAsTamAn is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 267
Default

I've installed several magic3 chips and they all work fine except one. It wouldn't boot dvdrs at all. I originally installed it into a brand-spanking new v7 and it wouldn't boot dvdrs. I then just unsoldered that chip and replaced it with another magic3, and viola - it worked like a charm. So just to be sure, I did the same thing with a v4 machine - and sure as sh*t - no dvdr. Replaced that one too, and it worked fine. So maybe there are just a whack of magic3 chips out there that are bum chips?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Dec 20, 2002, 09:52 AM
msmonteal msmonteal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Fredericksburg, VA, USA
Posts: 363
Default

I am going to go out and buy a lens cleaning kit and try using that on my reader, recorder, and ps2 and see if that help at all. If not I am going to see if I can get an exchange with a new one.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did Magic 3.1 fix booting CD problems? matt_machin Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Mar 06, 2003 10:08 AM
WEIRD!! magic 3.1 problems LynkenPark Video Game Backup - PS2 12 Mar 02, 2003 10:00 AM
Swap Magic Disk Problem superhuman1 Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Dec 04, 2002 07:37 PM
PS2 V.7 & Magic 2chip.... looking for definitive answers VAF PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 8 Oct 29, 2002 11:58 AM
Magic 2 for PS2 version 4 - Anyone have problems or sucess? billmill PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 8 Oct 19, 2002 06:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved