CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #25  
Old Jan 19, 2003, 04:12 PM
barracuda barracuda is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Pa, USA
Posts: 1,023
Default

sponsored links

 
Update on my problems...

Went in and tested every point...all good.
Upgraded the reset and clock lines to 22 awg wire and even ran the twisted pair(ground) on the clock line. Couldn't upgrade Scex since it can't hold the wire. Still no go on any backups.

Going in once more to remove the extra diode and bridge the k track cut.
Also found some info to distinguish if it's a V5 or a V6. Will check when I go in.

I remember when the M2 first came out, the compatibility with the USA V6's was debatable...the M2 website had a question mark in the compatibility chart and the site doesn't say they tested them with a V6. Since this is an older M2 USA chip maybe it isn't compatable? If it is a V5 and removing the diode doesn't fix it, I will assume the chip is defective.

Has anyone tried an older M2 USA in a V6 and had any success??
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old Jan 19, 2003, 05:18 PM
barracuda barracuda is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Pa, USA
Posts: 1,023
Default

Finished it. Even tested the extra diode since you never know what you're gonna get from radio crap. Verified that its a V5.

Still no go on bu's...assuming the chip is defective.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old Jan 19, 2003, 06:38 PM
jellyboy jellyboy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1
Unhappy

Hey guys, can anyone help me with a similar problem too please.
I have a v7 pal ps2 and have installed a messiah 2 with the track on the back cut as per messiah2.com instructions.

The problem is that original games and ps1 backups will boot okay but when I try a ps2 cd rip/dvd-r the disc starts to load and shows the sony logo, but then after a second or two the discs just spins - sounds as though it's reading but nothing happens.
Do you know if it could be a problem with the install, the media or the laser adjustment, bearing in mind this is a brand new machine used for less than 24 hours.
Any help would be much appreciated, do you think maybe I need to fit the extra diode???

Last edited by jellyboy; Jan 21, 2003 at 06:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old Jan 20, 2003, 04:16 AM
Backstar Backstar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 263
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by barracuda [/i]
[B]Hi guys, I seem to have a problem like this too. It's my first M2 USA install on a V5 or V6 USA machine.

Is the track on the back supposed to be cut if you are adding the diode? The Actel batch # on the chip is 0243.


Any help is greatly appreciated,
barracuda [/B]
Check that your PS2 is a ver5 and not a ver6, that M2 won't support USA ver 6 PS2's.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old Jan 21, 2003, 07:31 AM
donnerkebab donnerkebab is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 67
Default

finally got mine sorted today!

the place I bought the chip from agreed to exchange it with another. which now works..

backstar - thanks for sending the diode..... I didnt end up using it so if anyone one wants it lmk

I will be getting my chips from here from now on
***********.star-services.info/

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old Jan 21, 2003, 08:17 AM
Backstar Backstar is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Birmingham
Posts: 263
Default

Glad to hear you got it up and running in the end, its pretty frustrating having a modchip installed in your PS2 that won't function!

And also thanks for the reccomendation, you've put a on my face.

Have fun
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Messiah 1 chip boot DVD9 game discs? OmegaX Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Jan 24, 2003 02:47 PM
PS2 with messiah boot probs??? GG27 Video Game Backup - PS2 2 Oct 14, 2002 02:09 PM
messiah boot problem!!! bluenile PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 0 Sep 23, 2002 03:20 PM
Anyone Know How To Boot Region 1 DVD's With Messiah? BITN22 Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Sep 22, 2002 03:26 AM
Neo 4.1 Suddenly won't play original dvd + dvdrs (plays cdrs fine) ??? Javtrade Video Game Backup - PS2 9 May 25, 2002 10:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved