CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  

Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 27, 2003, 01:58 PM
Feoras Feoras is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 18

sponsored links

Yeah briny, Messiah2 Pro version, firmware V1.08

Has anybody got any information for testing the messiah2 install such as pin voltages or waveforms?
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2003, 03:41 AM
Feoras Feoras is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 18

I've re-tested it 4 times this week and tried yet another M2 and still no luck. everything checks out perfectly but it still doesnt work. I guess I must have a faulty batch of M2s or something. Anyone else experienced this?
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 09, 2003, 03:56 AM
briny_uk briny_uk is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: manchester
Posts: 623

actually i did the other week.. got a ps2 and chipped it, wouldnt boot any copies. thought right take it out clean it up and try again... no luck.

very annoying when this happens, ill try another chip in it today

Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2003, 02:16 PM
madison mods madison mods is offline
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Madison, Wisconsin
Posts: 797

I have seen the same with some 1.08s. It acts like the chip isn't even there. Take it out, put a different chip in and it works fine. These are chips that were directly after each other in the assembly line. They are also PCB corrected. I think there just may have been problems with the assembly line when these were coming out. The 1.21s and up seem fine now. In every case that I've had, the system will load PSX backups, but no PS2 backups. A new chip (with the exact same wiring) has always solved the problem. By the way, per the earlier conversations, if the serial number starts with FU it's a US V6. The V5 all start with U.
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2003, 02:18 PM
Feoras Feoras is offline
Junior Member
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 18

I tried a fourth and fifth M2 with no luck... I re-checked and re-checked and found no problems... I used twisted pairs and then tried shielded cable for the clock and V+ and still nothing.

Then I heard about the alternative clock point and moved my clock wire to there and bingo!! It works now, perfectly.

Pity I didn't know about the alt clk sooner.... Anyway I am happy now that it works

Thanks everyone who helped
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will Messiah 1 chip boot DVD9 game discs? OmegaX Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Jan 24, 2003 01:47 PM
PS2 with messiah boot probs??? GG27 Video Game Backup - PS2 2 Oct 14, 2002 01:09 PM
messiah boot problem!!! bluenile PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 0 Sep 23, 2002 02:20 PM
Anyone Know How To Boot Region 1 DVD's With Messiah? BITN22 Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Sep 22, 2002 02:26 AM
Neo 4.1 Suddenly won't play original dvd + dvdrs (plays cdrs fine) ??? Javtrade Video Game Backup - PS2 9 May 25, 2002 09:28 AM

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:26 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 All rights reserved