CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jan 22, 2003, 03:20 PM
briny_uk briny_uk is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: manchester
Posts: 623
Default help :( unfortunately

sponsored links

 
hi..

very bad mood

did someones ps2 ages ago (november) with a magic 2 - ps2 was a V7...

worked fine obviiously until now.. when i got it back and gave him my ps2 to replace it to save fuss i opened it.. nothing at all wrong with the wiring.. nothing was loose, nothing was off...

the problem is that there is no video output, no eject light and no functioning of the buttons once the green light is on.. which is no good!

i cant understand why it would choose to not work months down the line and have no wiring issues when i go it back..

ive took the chip out, no difference, its not doing anything

any help would be REALLY appreciated! and if it could be a fuse.. where is that fuse lol

thanks

nick
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jan 22, 2003, 03:23 PM
padawan padawan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,503
Default

Sounds like a fuse, i had a similar problem with no video and no eject light, turned out it was a 30 fuse that had been popped....use a meter, check em all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jan 22, 2003, 03:34 PM
briny_uk briny_uk is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: manchester
Posts: 623
Default

ok thanks, any idea why it would choose to pop now though?? thats the thing i dont understand.. a fuse that decides itll pop 3 months later almost

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jan 22, 2003, 04:36 PM
padawan padawan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,503
Default

being that magics are 5v chips, it probably popped one of the 5v fuses...fuses can pop at any time, just like auto fuses, they r there to basically shut down that part of the circuit and protect the rest of the more sensitive parts....trust me, it's good to have fuses....anything coulda caused it, any kind of surge in power that the fuse couldn't handle....I've seen a psx blow up cuz people lost power to their house then it came right back on, fried it....

Just probe the board fuses with an ohmmeter. if u get a 0 it's good, u get 1 it's popped....
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jan 22, 2003, 04:47 PM
briny_uk briny_uk is offline
User Awaiting Email Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: manchester
Posts: 623
Default

ok.. ill do that, ill "borrow" one from the physics lab

Nick
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jan 22, 2003, 09:27 PM
TheCheekyMonkey TheCheekyMonkey is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: www.consoleworkshop.co.uk
Posts: 307
Default

had the same problem mate could`nt figure out it at all, so if you find the solution could you please post it here, .....cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved