CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  

Old Feb 01, 2003, 06:18 PM

Exclamation warning to would be modders!!

sponsored links

Just a word of warning to anyone thinking of taking on their ps2 themselves.
I am an electrician with plenty of experience of repairs, fault finding and soldering, and thought I could save a few bob by installing the messiah chip myself.
How wrong I was.
I thought I'd start and get the hardest over first and started soldering to the DVD controller.
To cut a long story short, I made a right B*****ks of it.
The pins on this chip are so close together, I shorted two out almost straight away and things got progressively worse from there.
Anyone thinking of trying it for themselves, take my word for it and leave it to the experts.
My ps2 is useless (I had it to a repair shop)
Now its 65+ to exchange it from sony, and I STILL have to pay someone to get it modded
If you're not sure.....LEAVE WELL ALONE
Old Feb 01, 2003, 08:47 PM
User Awaiting Email Confirmation

hi.. you know you can remove those shorts... get yourself some desolder braid from maplins (www.maplin.co.uk) and use that on the legs. then if that fixes it all you need to do is pay for its modding

nick
Old Feb 01, 2003, 10:20 PM

desoldering braid is a wonderful thing in this business
it saved me yet again this evening

unless u turned the ps2 on with the bridging in place or u broke some legs on the chip you should be able to get it going unles u have gobs of solder on the legs i suppose but that shouldnt be
Old Feb 04, 2003, 05:27 PM

Thumbs up desoldering braid

thanks......I'll get some next time I go into Leeds
Old Nov 03, 2004, 05:04 AM