CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - Xbox
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 09, 2003, 05:09 PM
Stusy Stusy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Bournemouth,Dorset,England
Posts: 2,102
Default Faulty X-box hard drive.

sponsored links

 
I've just got it in for repair.

Someone tried to instal evox on the hard drive.

It origianlly came up with balck screen

I've changed the onboard bios with one that contains X-ecuter 2 4074 bios.

It comes up with error code 16......

it will not boot from the Rom drive so I can't use my setup disk and see what damage has been done.

I have winhex.

Can I pull the working hex off another drive and copy accross to the new one?

Is there a code I need off the original one so the mobo and board are matched?

Can I simply upgrade the hard drive in another X-box with all the apprpriate files and put it in the new one?

Any help apprecaited as I've never seen this before

Thanks Stuart
  #2  
Old Feb 10, 2003, 07:39 AM
plexgod plexgod is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,048
Default

stusy m8,

The easiest way to fix thisis to put it in a working chipped xbox, then you should be able to boot off dvd with an evox disc and sort out the problem.

the 16 error means that the dashboard is screwed. you need to boot up and transfer a working xboxdash.xbe over to the C drive.

the drive may need to be unlocked aswell. use configmagic to unlock it if you need to.

good luck
plexgod
  #3  
Old Feb 12, 2003, 08:01 AM
Stusy Stusy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Bournemouth,Dorset,England
Posts: 2,102
Default

I'll try that, but I've tried booting it with a new hard drive and its still not booting the Evox disk. I've swapped the DVD rom drive with a know working one, but still no joy.
  #4  
Old Feb 12, 2003, 08:06 AM
plexgod plexgod is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,048
Default

strange, you should be able to boot even if the hard drive is screwed. what error does it come up with?
  #5  
Old Feb 12, 2003, 08:59 AM
Stusy Stusy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Bournemouth,Dorset,England
Posts: 2,102
Default

Error 16
  #6  
Old Feb 12, 2003, 09:10 AM
plexgod plexgod is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,048
Default

does it boot any dvd at all? games etc?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can use a toggle switch to turn off my second hard drive when it's not in use? bnbhoha Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 Sep 03, 2007 05:13 PM
Installing a hard drive, NTFS or FAT32 StandardBMX Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Jan 09, 2006 08:26 AM
Hard drive upgrade??? Bumfield007 Video Game Backup - Xbox 4 Jun 22, 2003 04:41 PM
PS2 Hard Drive in Japan Kierre Video Game Backup - PS2 10 Dec 26, 2002 05:24 AM
Second hard drive in Windows XP catlitter Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 Jun 21, 2002 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved