CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Legacy Game Backup > Dreamcast
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 01:19 AM
develitate develitate is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 290
Default Saturn questions

sponsored links

 
I know this is a little off topic, but does anyone know if an imported saturn from japan will play on an NTSC tv and plug into an american outlet? Also could it be modded to play import and us backups? thanks guys
  #2  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 04:58 AM
xxxStealthxxx xxxStealthxxx is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 537
Default

It'll play it just fine and no you don't need a mod to play import backups
  #3  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 10:55 AM
rn2 rn2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 219
Default

um pretty certain you need a mod chip/board for this, never done it myself so not certain. they used to sell them at lik-sang not sure if they still do...
  #4  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 12:58 PM
QWERTY QWERTY is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Mountain View, CA
Posts: 2,847
Default

A typical Stealth answer is almost always totally wrong. I think he's retarded or something. Just ignore everything that idiot says.


The Saturn has both regional and backup protection. Bypassing one doesn't bypass the other.
-To play backup's you'll need either a MOD chip or use a swap trick.
-To play games from other regions you'll either need to patch the game, install a region switch MOD in the saturn, or get a plug in cartridge that bypasses the regional protection.

Go here and read the FAQ's in the Miscellaneous section: ***********.litespeedcomputers.com/sx/
  #5  
Old Feb 18, 2003, 02:52 PM
2die4 2die4 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,221
Default

Chipping a Saturn is a piece of pi$$, just plug the chip in and solder 4 wires. I done mine in less than 5 minutes. Don't bother using any swap techniques as it will kill you laser.

The region switching mod is pretty easy to do as well but if you don't fancy doing it then try and get hold of an action replay 4-in-1 if you can. This will let you play imports as well as act as a memory card for saved games and it works with games that need the 1MB expansion pack.

check this site out for more info on chipping and the 50/60hz mod:

***********.trsoft.demon.co.uk/saturn.htm
  #6  
Old Feb 25, 2003, 06:12 AM
sonik_br sonik_br is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Brazil
Posts: 50
Default

Hey 2die4, where I can get a Action Replay 4-in-1 ?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I have two questions abount MS Exchange Server, and ASP (Two Separate Questions) kwepmmnd Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Dec 07, 2002 08:10 PM
3 Simple Questions Regarding Ps2 Backup gerlec Video Game Backup - PS2 2 Nov 09, 2002 08:19 PM
hello I'm working with my Saturn and could use some help? Gunstar9 Legacy Game Backup 10 Aug 03, 2002 09:38 AM
Sega Saturn question - Anyone knows how to change regional code on Saturn games? spaceship557 Legacy Game Backup 2 Jun 11, 2002 11:11 PM
saturn backups goretv Legacy Game Backup 2 Mar 09, 2002 11:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved