CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Mar 16, 2003, 01:12 PM
.::X-F/\ct0r::. .::X-F/\ct0r::. is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default ****ed up PS2??

sponsored links

 
I recently installed a modchip (ProPlay)...an earlier topic i placed was about the CD/DVD drive spinning weird.
Anyway i know what the problem is....a tiny chip has come of the mainboard $%$@%^

My question now.....anyone got an advice 4 me?

The chip at point S has come off. Hope anyone can help me out. What does that chippy do anyway?

***********.plextor.nl/OMBOUWINFO/ps2-proplay-v7.jpg

Greetz,
.:: X-Factor ::.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Mar 16, 2003, 02:02 PM
rd350ypvs rd350ypvs is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Posts: 595
Default

That is a resistor and can quite easily replaced, you should get intouch with any modchip installer and ask for the ohms value, you can then order from Maplins or RS to replace it





andyw
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Mar 16, 2003, 02:57 PM
sniper_king sniper_king is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 95
Default

I think you will find it's a capacitor as the black ones are resistors and you can purchase these as spares from websites such as playstationmods.com.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Mar 16, 2003, 07:02 PM
Spagboll Spagboll is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Morecambe, Lancashire, England
Posts: 2,187
Default

Yep. Its a capacitor. As above post states.

Mike ( Spagboll ) ...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Mar 17, 2003, 01:31 AM
.::X-F/\ct0r::. .::X-F/\ct0r::. is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default

Tx 4 helpin me out, luckily it's fixable
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Mar 17, 2003, 04:12 AM
.::X-F/\ct0r::. .::X-F/\ct0r::. is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 4
Default

I got an old motherboard of a Pentium 2 which gave me an idea!

Is it possible 2 use a capacitor of a motherboard like that...

I live in Holland and the capacitator can't be bought here and shipping costs are pretty high from the UK...so i thought what the heck, lets ask



Greetz,
.:: X-Factor ::.

hmm i also found some capacitators on th RS site....which one do i need

***********.rs-components.nl/cgi-bin/bv/browse/QuickView.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@0289275133.10478961 78@@@@&BV_EngineID=cccgadchkkhllhfcfngcfkmdgkldfhn .0&3225349302=3225349302&catoid=-243610791&start=61

Last edited by .::X-F/\ct0r::.; Mar 17, 2003 at 04:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone else dissapointed with XBOXs E3 lineup? Dunny Video Game Backup - Xbox 20 Apr 26, 2003 02:13 PM
New Sony PS2 Design!! smackme Video Game Backup - PS2 39 Apr 24, 2003 06:00 AM
running Linux on the PS2? salsaholik Video Game Backup - PS2 5 Apr 16, 2003 10:56 PM
This is how u boot games on messiah ps2 gt3 version ps2?? jzmjr15 Video Game Backup - PS2 9 Apr 23, 2002 05:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved