CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #19  
Old Jun 04, 2003, 02:39 PM
Lee2003 Lee2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 499
Default

sponsored links

 
LOL! I think I would rather buy the bard :P

Seriosly though, I have taken into consideration what you have said andyr and I am going to take that chance, If I damage the board then I'll just buy another, the only thing now is finding the right BIOS update which of course I cannot take this any further until I've got that revision number, problem is where do I get it?.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old Jun 04, 2003, 05:06 PM
lemolelly lemolelly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 205
Default

If you are still looking for the revision number it is printed in white in one of the corners on the motherboard. ( says [ver. xx] (xx being the number))
Your gonna have to take the case off though and have a peek in , in my sons computer it is the bottom left corner with the connections out of the case also on the left.
I have flashed the bios on ver 7 & ver3(pcchips site says it cant take it on ver 3--see UAPyro reply BUT it can with lastest bios)I have then put in xp2000 chip & have worked, no problem.
Go spend 46 on a retail box version of this chip incl heatsink[ ***********.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?action=UFNQcm9kdWN0U2VhcmNoUmVzdWx0cw== &order=ASC&order_col=sell_price ] , better than buying a new board just to upgrade your cpu if you dont have all the money now.
Pcchips are not the best boards by far, but they do a job & are cheap with all the onboard sound, graphics. modem etc, when you mess on a bit you can get a better board (Asus) then add a better sound, graphics card etc. But your chip can still be used.
HTH

Soz, just read your spec & realised your not using onboard sound & graphics

Last edited by lemolelly; Jun 04, 2003 at 05:12 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old Jun 05, 2003, 06:59 AM
Lee2003 Lee2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 499
Default

Ive had the case off and had a look, could not see a number apart from on the BIOS chip, here it is

686
AMBIOS
AZ285
5413

Thats what it says on the BIOS chip I could not find any other number on the Motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old Jun 05, 2003, 07:13 AM
gooner gooner is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,795
Default

when you boot the PC up (During POST), take down the number in the bottom left hand corner and then search for that one.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old Jun 05, 2003, 07:29 AM
Lee2003 Lee2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 499
Default

Tried that too but it is way to fast for me to even get a look, I tried the Pausew/Break button and that just freezes my pc causing me to reboot, at the wait.. screen after the system post. How can I get that number?
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old Jun 05, 2003, 01:06 PM
lemolelly lemolelly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ENGLAND
Posts: 205
Default

3. Where do I find the version number of my motherboard?
It is either written onto the Board near the keyboard connector, or silkscreened in very small print in the corner of the board nearest PCI#1 connector (also near "JUSB1").

A brief motherboard history:
Motherboard version 1.0 = No AGP port
Motherboard version 1.3 = No AGP port
Motherboard version 1.6 = First version with AGP port
Motherboard version 3.0 = Some support 266Mhz but not sure which
Motherboard version 5.0 = First with official support for 266FSB and 4 channel sound codec
Motherboard version 7.0 = First to support XP+ CPUs and "Morgan" Duron CPUs
Motherboard version 7.0a = First to support XP+ CPUs and "Morgan" Duron CPUs higher than 1600+
Motherboard version 7.1 = Current series

THis is from this link ********radel.inet.net.nz/m810lmr.html

check it out it has loads of info on this board

I have just checked my sons again it is on a white sticker in the bottom left corner next to a hole in the board it says something like REV 7.0a.
on older versions I think it is actually printed onto the board in the same place.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how easy is it to build pc? makey Open to All Computer Related Topics 13 Mar 22, 2003 02:55 AM
Slow Processor???? [; ; winME] bud Windows ME 0 Jan 15, 2003 12:41 AM
Will this processor work in my computer? mynameis? Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 Jan 06, 2003 11:45 PM
apex - changing background images - easy long.ian DVD 1 Sep 10, 2002 12:40 PM
Need help with Easy CD Creator 5.02 [; ; win98] brucetrade CD-R & CD-RW 3 May 21, 2002 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved