CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows XP
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jun 11, 2003, 08:12 AM
Jono2003 Jono2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 321
Default how can i find a mac address of a router? [; ; winXP]

sponsored links

 
Hi everyone

ive connect up both pcs & they work between each other fine.

I need the mac address from the broadband router so i can register it with blueyounder.Is there anything else i would need to know to conenct the pcs up to the net via the router

Thanks jon
  #2  
Old Jun 11, 2003, 08:16 AM
duffy90210 duffy90210 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 5,704
Default

Routers do not normally come with any MAC, some will allow you to clone a working workstations MAC, while others will allow you to type in the MAC address manually, you need to read the manual to learn how to do that.

Normally the process goes like, you using a network cable, connect to the router, then open up IE, type in the routers IP address, once in, you should have many options to set the router, one of them should be about the MAC.

HTH
  #3  
Old Jun 11, 2003, 08:21 AM
Jono2003 Jono2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 321
Default

thanks for the quick respone i will try that again but last time it did not work typing in the routers ip address.
  #4  
Old Jun 11, 2003, 08:47 AM
duffy90210 duffy90210 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 5,704
Default

Jono, what you need to do, is to give or register a current working MAC address to Telewest first, on voice it will take upto 1 hr, online will be within 24 hrs for the records to get updated.

So if you have 1 computer using a network card to connect to TW, you make a note of this cards MAC address (winipcfg), then logon to your router, enter this same MAC address into the router, and check the router is running on NAT to auto assign IPs out.

After that, simply get all Windows workstations to Obtain IP automatically, then restart and it should work, it sounds complicated, but in reality its not that difficult.

HTH
  #5  
Old Jun 11, 2003, 09:00 AM
Jono2003 Jono2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 321
Default

Thanks for the help duffy but, Ive allready fiqured out what i was doing wrong & have the interent now on both computers.


cheers jon
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help setting up a router? [; ; winXP] Limehac Windows XP 3 Jan 05, 2003 01:41 PM
can you find out someones address with equifax? contactmat Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 Aug 15, 2002 02:53 AM
I need to find someonesIP address Postmaster Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 Aug 09, 2002 10:04 AM
Mac address jonno112 Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Aug 08, 2002 05:30 AM
Mac address help [Compaq; Armada E500; winXP] mediaman15775 Windows XP 3 Aug 03, 2002 11:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:58 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved