CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Jul 06, 2003, 01:51 PM
Kirk Angel Kirk Angel is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,464
Default

sponsored links

 
is this one any good?
***********.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&pro duct_uid=40520
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old Jul 06, 2003, 06:11 PM
Lee2003 Lee2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 499
Default

That is a decent HDD 7200 RPM is good with a 8MB buffer. Make sure your HDD's are on the primary IDE channel, it is not a good idea to put the HDD on the same channel as the CDROM especialy if you burn cd's.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old Jul 06, 2003, 06:15 PM
Kirk Angel Kirk Angel is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,464
Default

they seem to be seperate from my writers etc, there is a space with a spare lead for another hdd
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old Jul 06, 2003, 06:37 PM
Virgin San Virgin San is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne Aus
Posts: 1,327
Default

Kirk, that sounds fine - slam it on the same cable as your other hard drive, the only thing to be wary of before you screw it into the case is setting the jumper on the back to slave, instructions are usually on the tin.

Lee ... bit of an outmoded view m8, modern hardware has no problems handling drive and writer on the same cable.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old Jul 06, 2003, 06:42 PM
Lee2003 Lee2003 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 499
Default

The newer hardware does not, no but I still use separate IDE channels from CDROM and HDD's. If he says he has another IDE channel spare thats even better but as you said, modern hardware does not have a problem now so really you woulden't notice a difference then. Me, I am still old school can't keep up to date with all this hardware lol.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old Jul 07, 2003, 06:36 PM
dvdr heaven dvdr heaven is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 80
Default

with 1 hard drive, cd writer amd dvd writer at the moment , i would connect as follows
ide 1 - 40 gig hard drive primary master
cdrw primary slave
ide 2 - new hard drive secondary master
dvdrw scondary slave

but on the other hand if all your burning is done from hard drive, then connect both hard drives on ide1 and both writers on ide 2

Last edited by dvdr heaven; Jul 07, 2003 at 06:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do u add codes? wh0dat Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Aug 12, 2003 03:29 AM
held to ransom by pop up add brad101 Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Apr 25, 2003 05:17 PM
how to add file hem_in Open to All Computer Related Topics 2 Jan 16, 2003 02:13 PM
copy from hdrive 2 second hdrive Starscream Open to All Computer Related Topics 10 Jan 12, 2003 02:16 PM
how and what HDD can you add to a 10GB G4? qxe900 Mac User 3 Aug 02, 2002 02:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved