CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  

Old Jul 15, 2003, 11:39 AM
Veteran

Default Broadband for house

sponsored links

I am a student and will be moving into a student house in a few weeks and we are wanted to get broadband which is avaible in the area. There are 3 of us who wish to share the connection, we all have network cards and no how to set up a network but were wondering what is the best option for the net connection sharing.
would we be able to feed the internet straight into a network hub or would we need to use one computer as a server ?

please let me know .

cheers

M_rsa
Old Jul 15, 2003, 01:11 PM
Veteran

Hi M_rsa

As you rightly say you have the option of a hub, well strictly speaking a router or using a PC as a server, plus of course ICS but I would steer clear of that.

I would say to go for the router option, it does everything a server will do for a lot cheaper, such as NAT, firewall, port forwarding, dhcp and acts as a hub so you can network the PC's as well, but obviously doesn't use up a PC in the meantime. Plus you just plug it in and away you go apart from any additional things you want to set up such as port forwarding for running servers.

Costwise they are so cheap now, not sure why people buy hubs, they start from around about 75 or $75 for a fully featured model with web-based config.

HTH, T.
Old Jul 15, 2003, 04:05 PM
Veteran

could u suggest a router to use as i do not know much about them. i only need to for 3 maybe 4 pcs.

M_rsa
Old Jul 16, 2003, 04:27 AM
Veteran

Hi M_rsa

Not sure where you are living, country-wise, but this is going to depend on whether you are getting ADSL or Cable.