CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Jul 16, 2003, 06:44 PM
M_rsa M_rsa is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wouldn't u like to know
Posts: 1,554
Default

sponsored links

 
Ok i see now, I sorry if i seem dumb but have not done much networking, if we were able to go with this option of a router then would we also need to have a hub to share info across a network or can the router act as both a router and a network hub?

thanks again

M_rsa
  #8  
Old Jul 17, 2003, 03:46 AM
TierraDelFuego TierraDelFuego is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Frimley, UK.
Posts: 1,211
Default

Hi again,

The latter, the router is also a 4 port hub as well, some also include a print server - so they are pretty worthwhile if the money is ok.

Cheers, T.
  #9  
Old Jul 17, 2003, 06:37 AM
M_rsa M_rsa is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wouldn't u like to know
Posts: 1,554
Default

ok thanx alot for the help.
Now when we do come to getting the broadband in the next few weeks will the tech support guy from the company know how to connect the net to the router and set it up do you think.

M_rsa
  #10  
Old Jul 17, 2003, 08:47 AM
TierraDelFuego TierraDelFuego is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Frimley, UK.
Posts: 1,211
Default

In all honesty the install engineers are data engineers, not PC engineers so will not know how to connect it at all, to the router.

Who are you connecting with? this is important as you may need to register your account. Basically I know NTL's setup as I used to work for them and have used their Cable service for years, but can't really help with Blueyonder. It could also matter on who you are with now - e.g if you are on NTL dialup now then regging the CM account is alot easier.

Let us know who you are going with, Cable wise.

T.
  #11  
Old Jul 17, 2003, 07:26 PM
M_rsa M_rsa is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Wouldn't u like to know
Posts: 1,554
Default

I think we will be going with blueyonder but we have not really sat down and made the final choice.

I think i should be able to do the setup myself but am not sure as I have never done anything like this before.

M_rsa
  #12  
Old Jul 18, 2003, 03:30 AM
TierraDelFuego TierraDelFuego is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Frimley, UK.
Posts: 1,211
Default

Not too sure about BY but it should be easy enough. Just make sure you get the CM registered with them. You can even try it out on one PC first to make sure it is working, then attach it to the router and connect the PC's up.

Hope it goes well.
T.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:36 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved