CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jul 17, 2003, 07:41 AM
JLGMAX JLGMAX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 264
Default Internet Connection Sharing - ADSL & Win XP/Linux

sponsored links

 
I have 2 Windows XP professional PCs and have just subscribed to broadband.

I want to use a network cable to connect the two PCs using the LAN cards and then share the ADSL connection between the two PCs to enable them both to be on the net at the same time.

Do i need to create a Local Area Connection with static IPs on both PCs to allow them to share the connection via the LAN cards ? Or do I just have to create the broadband connection on the PC with the ADSL modem in and then tick the "Share this connection" option ? Will the other PC then be able to use the connection via the LAN connection automatically ?

Finally - I am about to buy my ADSL modem and can get either a USB or PCI for approx the same price give or take a quid or so ! Is one more suitable for connection sharing than the other ? And finally, which one would be easiest to use under Linux (either Redhat 9 or Mandrake 9.1) ? I never got my PCI modem to work under linux but it handled some USB devices OK......any thoughts ?

Cheers !
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jul 17, 2003, 07:57 AM
duffy90210 duffy90210 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 5,704
Default

If you use one of the XP as the connection master, then set it to share the internet, it will in theory turn it into a router, assign IPs to any computers attached to it.

Personally, if you have not purchased a modem yet, then I would strongly suggest that you buy a ADSL modem/router, there can be brought from eBuyer for around 50 pounds, with it, you dont have to leave the master PC on all the time so that the other PCs can access the internet, it will make life a whole lot easier, as it also has a 4 port 10/100 hub build in.

Linux will work with either solutions, but from personal experience, a modem/router would be my personal choice..any day.

HTH
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jul 17, 2003, 08:52 AM
JLGMAX JLGMAX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 264
Default

Hi thanks - yes Ive seen the Ebuyer 1 port adsl router. Its only 37 - if I bought this would I be able to route to both PCs via ethernet then ?

***********.ebuyer.com/customer/products/index.html?action=c2hvd19wcm9kdWN0X292ZXJ2aWV3&pro duct_uid=48448


I was just confused whether or not one port just meant it had one connection (ie for the main PC ?!) Ive seen the 4 port one for 10 more but I know I will never have more than 2 PCs hooked up under any circumstances !

If so I will go for this as I know for a fact that both RH9 and Mandrake 9.1 will work fine with my onboard LAN card.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jul 17, 2003, 09:11 AM
duffy90210 duffy90210 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 5,704
Default

Thats a single port, meaning you will need to buy a hub in order to use more than 1 PC, take a look at QuickFind code: 48449 instead, this is the 4 port version. It will save you having to plug/unplug PC as you need to use the internet on them.

The router simply act like a NAT , assigning IPs out, where OS like Windows or Linux can simply use the build-in DHCP, there shouldnt be anything to config as long as the LAN card is setup correctly on the guest PC.


HTH
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jul 17, 2003, 10:43 AM
JLGMAX JLGMAX is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 264
Default

OK thanks for all your help !

One final thing - I have a long crossover cable which I use to connect my PC to my XBOX, but will I need to use straight through cables to hook my 2 PCs up to the router ?

Thanks !
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jul 17, 2003, 02:09 PM
duffy90210 duffy90210 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 5,704
Default

Yes, straight patch cable from PC to the router, as the router does the translation without having to cross the wires.

HTH
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sharing an Internet connection???? [; ; winXP] gavbam Windows XP 2 Apr 11, 2004 12:03 PM
Internet Connection Sharing Help Nokia I Is Computer Networking & Security 1 Dec 23, 2003 09:06 AM
<Home Network - Internet Connection Sharing - IP problem> 101 Computer Networking & Security 9 Jul 09, 2003 06:10 PM
why isn't my internet connection sharing working in my LAN? Nokia I Is Computer Networking & Security 39 Feb 18, 2003 03:04 PM
i'll pay someone to help me successfully share my adsl connection!!!! philmeehan Computer Networking & Security 34 Nov 19, 2002 06:56 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved