CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Jul 18, 2003, 11:42 PM
boredskater2000@yahoo.com boredskater2000@yahoo.com is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Marianna,FL. USA
Posts: 354
Default Need complete info on installing Apple chip in my version 5/6 PS2(need pics,help,etc)

sponsored links

 
hey all mod people, I'm going to try to mod my PS2 tomorrow. I can mod psx's and ps1's fine..but I've never done anything as hard as a PS2. My ps2 is version 5/6 and I have an apple chip to install. What I need are some good diagrams if anyone has them (the ones on the apple site are kind of blurry), I need to know what's the best kind of wires to use (heard you need stronger wires for 2 of the points). Also i heard you need to keep the wires short because of timing issues. Also I need a pic of what the install looks like after its installed. This would help me out by showing where to put the chip after i've done everything. Anyhelp at all is greatly needed. Thanks in advance!!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Jul 19, 2003, 10:09 AM
padawan padawan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,503
Default

The chip goes in the neo 4 position, all the way to the right of the mobo in that big empty space...or can go in the magic/messiah position, about 3 inches over to the left of the bios chip.

Yes use thicker guage wires for power and ground and maybe reset (I always use thicker gauge for all three just to be sure)..use 26 gauge, or stripped ide cable...or twist 2 pieces of kynar together...

Best kind of wire for the rest of the install is 30 gauge kynar wire...found at radio shack, called wrapping wire.

Keeping the wires as short as possible can only help, but for the apples I've done, keeping them super short is not as important as for Magic series...

Can't find my pics of it, will keep looking for u, someone is bound to have some.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Jul 19, 2003, 05:43 PM
boredskater2000@yahoo.com boredskater2000@yahoo.com is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Marianna,FL. USA
Posts: 354
Default

Does anyone know where I can get this wire?? I have checked at both radioshacks..walmart, lowes and rex..and didn't find any of it. Or does any one have some they can sale me or something?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Jul 19, 2003, 11:42 PM
padawan padawan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,503
Default

Go to RadioShack, ask for "Insulated Wrapping Wire" Item #: 278-501, 278-502, 278-503.....Those are the different colors, check radioshack.com.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Jul 20, 2003, 06:25 PM
boredskater2000@yahoo.com boredskater2000@yahoo.com is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Marianna,FL. USA
Posts: 354
Default

Ok, I hvae gone there and looked and gave them the item numbers..no luck. They don't have it. I've also checked at walmart, lowes, etc. and still no luck. I would buy them on radioshack.com but they would charge me more for shipping then the wires even cost. Is there anyone that mod's systems that can sell/trade me some of the wire you use?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Jul 20, 2003, 10:09 PM
Optic_surfa Optic_surfa is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 209
Default

kya use to sell like 40 prestriped 30guage wires for cheap.. but seems like his web site been down for a long time....

at my local electronics store, i got like 100m worth for like 8bucks CDN... its kinda expensive compared to other wires... but u could try your local elec store..
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone Here with an APPLE 2 CHIP think it sucks?? rawdog805 Video Game Backup - PS2 30 Jun 13, 2003 08:55 AM
looking for info for an apple chip for V7 ps2 freakit PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 5 Jan 03, 2003 01:17 AM
I need help deciding on a chip 4 my Version 7... ERcRacer14 Video Game Backup - PS2 10 Dec 22, 2002 11:42 PM
Apple Chip version 7 question chindavon21 PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 1 Nov 14, 2002 09:44 PM
apple chip is it a clone need info please gunner12 Video Game Backup - PS2 7 Sep 25, 2002 11:30 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved