CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows 2000
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Aug 08, 2003, 01:31 PM
cleocrazy cleocrazy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: boston
Posts: 4
Default

sponsored links

 
downloaded that program and it says it's and AMD 751 chipset, so i went to their site, and there are no IDE drivers for that set.

i think i may just call compaq.
  #8  
Old Aug 08, 2003, 02:11 PM
iss iss is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 561
Default

here is the link to the AMD 751 chipset drivers.

***********.amd.com/us-en/Processors/ProductInformation/0,,30_118_756_3734%5E871%5E2336~3226,00.html
  #9  
Old Mar 12, 2007, 11:20 AM
Superhiway Superhiway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1
Thumbs up Here's the resolution !!!

Three years have passed since the last post on this, but I had this same problem so I had to resolve it. I felt it would be nice to share.

The info came from deep within the Compaq Support Site. The secondary controller gets disable when the BIOS setting for the parallel port is changed to ECP. It's an error in the code. Change the parallel port back to "Bi-Directional", save your settings, and then boot the PC back up. Windows will then see the CDRom's on the secondary controller, and will be usable. Compaq offers a BIOS update, but it's not required if you don't mind sticking with the Bi-Directional setting for the port.
  #10  
Old Mar 03, 2008, 06:21 PM
jbodden jbodden is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by cleocrazy
downloaded that program and it says it's and AMD 751 chipset, so i went to their site, and there are no IDE drivers for that set.

i think i may just call compaq.
Rotsa Ruck.
My new Compaq laptop had Vista. I dumped it for the pig it is. Now I have xp pro x64 and it runs like a scalded dog BUT I have NO sound drivers and NO graphics (other than generic vga) because, AS HP SAID - THIS IS A VISTA ONLY MACHINE. IT WAS DESIGNED THAT WAY AND NO OTHER OS WILL WORK PROPERLY.

Is it irony that Msoft was sued for insisting on blending their browser into their os - now they have found a way to 'blend everyone elses OUT'!!!

Will not even boot Linux - and a toaster will boot linux (practically).
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Setting Up TV Out With My TV... [Compaq; Armada M700 ; win2KPro] kev269 Windows 2000 2 Dec 03, 2009 05:53 AM
CDROM not showing in WIN98 Goplanit Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Jun 13, 2002 04:18 AM
Software Problem [Compaq; Armada E500; win2KPro] Ash- Windows 2000 6 May 26, 2002 10:12 AM
SONY CD-RW CRX175A1 Problem [COMPAQ; 5340; win2KPro] er1975us CD-R & CD-RW 2 Apr 22, 2002 08:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:00 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved