CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Operating System Forums > Windows ME
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 08, 2003, 10:17 AM
Stevie boy Stevie boy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Scotland
Posts: 695
Unhappy Puter won't start up? [generic; P2 333 but not sure; winME]

sponsored links

 
Hi again all. My girlfriends PC refuses to start up. As far as i know, it started doing this out of the blue. I've tried it and all I get is a single beep from MB then, the energy star sign in the top right of screen and,F1 and DEL on the bottom of the screen.
I've swopped the hard drive for another and exactly the same symptoms.
Anybody got any ideas.
it's a Jetway MB, J720 BF, should be this one ***********.jetway.com.tw/evisn/product/slot1/720bf/show.htm
I hope I've posted enough to shed some light on it?
Steeve.

Last edited by Stevie boy; Aug 08, 2003 at 11:53 AM.
  #2  
Old Aug 08, 2003, 11:01 AM
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 5,746
Default

Does it go past POST? You may have a hardware conflict. Try going into the bios and use Setup Defaults. One beep is fine, two I think means the mobo and three video, depending on the bios. Make sure everything in the bios is detected.
  #3  
Old Aug 08, 2003, 11:48 AM
Stevie boy Stevie boy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Scotland
Posts: 695
Default

Thanks for your speedy reply. I can't get into BIOS or, anything else for that matter. It shows the blank screen with the logo etc but, I can't get a response from anything.
Steeve.
  #4  
Old Aug 08, 2003, 09:30 PM
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 5,746
Default

Time to reset your motherboards cmos. Either use the jumpers, or remove the battery for up to several days, and that should hopefully reset your bios. While your in there, make sure nothing has come loose.
  #5  
Old Aug 09, 2003, 03:34 AM
Richskie Richskie is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: England
Posts: 880
Default

Try a different keyboard.
  #6  
Old Aug 09, 2003, 05:34 AM
Stevie boy Stevie boy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Scotland
Posts: 695
Default

I can't find anything loose, I'll try to find the jumpers too. I've asked her to give me her own keyboard to keep it all the same as it was. I've tried swopping the memory too with an old pc I have here, exactly the same after that too.
Steeve.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instant messenger, which one is best? [Generic; My style; winME] Stevie boy Windows ME 10 Jul 08, 2003 03:03 PM
DVD/CDRW Settings? [Generic; AMD K6 500; winME] Stevie boy CD-R & CD-RW 4 Jun 23, 2003 12:28 PM
nhl 2003 installation problems and total club manager 2003 extraction problems liu88 Legacy Game Backup 7 Oct 13, 2002 12:20 PM
Info on extracting ISO from RAR files... CTR Video Game Backup - PS2 6 Sep 15, 2002 11:32 AM
More memory installed, works but not detected at start up [P2 233; ; winME] oxocubeman Windows ME 3 Aug 07, 2002 07:35 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved