CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Aug 12, 2003, 11:52 AM
gooty gooty is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,123
Default How Big A Hdd Will My K7 S5a Mb Take?

sponsored links

 
Anyone know???
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Aug 12, 2003, 12:03 PM
gooner gooner is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,795
Default

Think it is 160Gb
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Aug 12, 2003, 12:37 PM
Dave2986 Dave2986 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,438
Default

K7S5A supports 48bit HDD (be sure to use an OS supporting 48bit)

that means they will work with any modern IDE hard disk up to 250 GB i think

read this
***********.dewassoc.com/kbase/hard_drives/hard_drive_size_barriers.htm

and be sure to have the latest bios (i use the cheepoman one)

(sorry to correct you gooner)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Aug 13, 2003, 04:10 AM
batty batty is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: uk ,lincs
Posts: 295
Default

i thought the K7 only supported up to 137gb for a single drive
no bios out to help either apart from a chinese one that aint been tested fully yet
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Aug 13, 2003, 06:33 AM
copyright copyright is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 693
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by batty [/i]
[B]i thought the K7 only supported up to 137gb for a single drive
no bios out to help either apart from a chinese one that aint been tested fully yet [/B]
Yes, but as dave pointed out you have to enable 48bit LBA. Alot of manufactors include a controler card for the compatablity reason,if you can get your comp to recongnzie the hd. I know that western digital included one for my 200 gb hd, they include it on all hd's over 137 gb's.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Aug 13, 2003, 06:54 AM
gooner gooner is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,795
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by Dave2986 [/i]
[B]

(sorry to correct you gooner) [/B]
no worries m8, I was unsure anyway
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDD how big? Bowdrinker Video Game Backup - Xbox 7 Feb 01, 2009 05:19 AM
BIG HDD question (120GB) gooty Open to All Computer Related Topics 8 Nov 12, 2003 06:21 PM
How big hdd can i use for PIII 550 pls??? JS2000 Consumer's Opinion 3 Oct 10, 2003 07:57 PM
maxtor hdd and parition magic probs hara-kiri Open to All Computer Related Topics 3 Jul 21, 2003 07:38 PM
xbox hd and iso program SD_DRACULA Video Game Backup - Xbox 10 May 21, 2003 05:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:03 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved