CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > DVD
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Aug 26, 2003, 08:56 PM
jeepers94 jeepers94 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 649
Default

sponsored links

 
No,these units(at least the ones I've seen)can be stand alone or usedto burn copies from the computers drives.I really see no need for this setup!
By the way,AV Logic has the oem Pioneer 106 for $156 each.Shipping is reasonable too.Another tip,I keep an older computer available for flashing the firmware on the burners.
  #8  
Old Aug 27, 2003, 06:13 PM
Hydropower Hydropower is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4
Default

You may want to take a visit to www.caloptic.com. They sell controllers to build your own DVD duplicator or CD's. I have built one of each and am very satisfied. The DVD controller WILL NOT allow duplication of DVD's with macrovision on them. I have had my duplicator for over a year now. I used a Pioneer A03 as its burner.

HTH

Hydropower
  #9  
Old Aug 27, 2003, 09:19 PM
Stevensly Stevensly is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Posts: 254
Default

Hi guys,
interesting stuff there.
This is assuming the copies you are making will fit on a regular dvdr?
Otherwise, I would think ripping to h/d and compressing will be in order for the larger movies.
  #10  
Old Aug 28, 2003, 01:27 AM
evil-ryu-05 evil-ryu-05 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: here
Posts: 25
Default

Hydropower thanks for the info so how well are people making with these


i guess all i need is--
5 pioneer dvd 106
7 bay case
7 target controller
1 hard drive
1 dvd rom

is that it???
  #11  
Old Aug 28, 2003, 05:45 PM
Hydropower Hydropower is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 4
Default

One item to consider is the case. You will need a SCSII case as the power supply from a standard PC wouldn't work unless you faked out the power good signal that a mother board normally supplies. I did that initially on my seven bay CD duplicator but eventually purchased a SCSII case. When I purchased my DVD controller from Caloptic three burners was all it would support. Maybe they have raised the anti but I would check. I haven't been out to there site for awhile so please don't assume that you can put seven writers on one controller.
HTH

Hydropower
  #12  
Old Aug 28, 2003, 06:27 PM
cdhawk55 cdhawk55 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Caribbean
Posts: 135
Default

www.ily.com have good prices and barebone...but for sure caloptic is very very reliable. someone on the ********** was selling out a 7-target a few weeks ago. Might want to check.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dvd Duplicator help..... Piston Broke DVD 0 Apr 10, 2004 02:20 PM
i really need some help here plz jimmy mumu Consumer's Opinion 4 Mar 09, 2004 04:14 PM
dvd duplicator cleggy DVD 4 Mar 01, 2004 07:13 AM
DVD duplicator advice plz. mrmac250 DVD 2 Sep 20, 2003 07:08 PM
DVD backups on a Mac? scoobydooby2002 Mac User 5 Jan 10, 2002 01:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:50 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved