CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Sep 01, 2003, 06:00 PM
jonno112 jonno112 is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 365
Default

sponsored links

 
I tried to detect it in the bios that failed.
I checked all the cables and they were fine,
I am left with a prompt, however fdisk won't work because there is no hard drive thats what it keeps telling me..

Thanks anyway

What about a bios upsate?
  #8  
Old Sep 01, 2003, 06:52 PM
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 5,746
Default

Firstly, make sure it's identified correctly in the bios. Try either Auto for the HD or try User and enter the parameters in manually. These will be on a sticker on the drive.
If its not detected in the bios, then you have a hardware problem.

Boot from a bootable floppy.
At the A:\> type fdisk and press enter.
If you receive a message no fixed disk present etc. the Hard Disk is bad or not connected properly.
If can get into fdisk, choose option 4 to display the partition information.
In the partition information, if the System is listed then continue to 5.
If you have a message indicating no partitions defined, no information is on your hard disk drive and you will need to create a new partition.
If you see FAT16 or FAT32 in fdisk press the ESC key until back at the A:\>
Once at the A:\> type, sys c: and press enter. Only do this command if you are using the same operating system that the floppy was created on.
You should get a message 'System Transferred', if you receive bad command or file name and have checked the command properly, you will need to obtain a bootable diskette with the file sys.com on it.
If it transferred successfully, reboot the computer and try to format from there.
  #9  
Old Mar 22, 2008, 12:25 AM
CyberK Systems CyberK Systems is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Default Your MB Problem

Change your Mother Board Battery, then try to update or load the same bios. For instruction on how to create a bios boot disk contact me via my business email. I will need your Make and Model to help with the rest.

CyberK Systems
www.Cyber-K.com
[email]cyber-k@cyber-k.com[/email]
  #10  
Old Mar 22, 2008, 10:06 PM
chandler68 chandler68 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: england
Posts: 977
Default

Last post in this thread was Sep 01, 2003, 10:52 PM.

Bit late for a reply don't you think.

colin.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Hard Drive HELP XMSBX Open to All Computer Related Topics 5 Apr 26, 2004 12:51 PM
how can i find out the make of my hard drive lodwales Device Driver Questions 1 Dec 26, 2003 09:40 PM
Som-thin 2 help those who are try to find a hard drive 4 their ps2 yesiam Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Mar 22, 2003 06:11 AM
hard drive possibly faulty - how do i test it rabby2 Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Dec 03, 2002 10:24 AM
how hard is it to upgrade the xbox hard drive?? buscuitboy Video Game Backup - Xbox 12 Oct 07, 2002 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved