CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > DVD > DVD/CD Media Discussion
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Nov 07, 2003, 02:59 PM
GooseTickler GooseTickler is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 6
Default any problems in copying from crap media to good media?

sponsored links

 
i have a PS2 dvd-r game thats burned on cheap media and doesnt boot up every time.

if i were to copy it onto a better dvd-r, say Verbatim, would that solve the problem of first time booting?

has anyone tried this?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Nov 07, 2003, 03:02 PM
BRUINSrock BRUINSrock is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 631
Default

i dont think there will be any problems as long as all the data is in tact.

Not 100% sure, tho, may want a second opinion
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Nov 07, 2003, 03:29 PM
jesterrace777 jesterrace777 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,344
Default

Well I don't know about the PS2 but I do this with my XBOX games all of the time. I transfer them from crappy Princo media to Ritek media and there is A WORLD OF DIFFERENCE in how they function. I'm almost 100% sure the same holds true for the PS2. As long as the "original" DVD-R is readable by your computer's DVD-ROM drive it shouldn't be any problem at all. *EDIT* BTW my Princos do the exact same thing that you described (not booting everytime) but my Riteks and Fujifilm re-burns work 100%.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Nov 07, 2003, 03:38 PM
GooseTickler GooseTickler is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 6
Default

thanks guys,

as long as you've tried it before and it works, then i'm happy. if it works for the xbox then i'm sure it'll work for the ps2 aswell.

i'm off to copy some dvds
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Nov 07, 2003, 04:05 PM
DR69ON DR69ON is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: California USA
Posts: 3,112
Default

I've tried it many times. I got many cheap princo disc, some with scatches and won't boot up. Burn it to Ritek and it should work better. As long as the data is there, then it's fine. The data is untouch when u transfer it from one dvdr to the next, the PS2 laser has to read from the disc's surface to extract the data, it it's mostly depend on the media.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Nov 08, 2003, 04:27 AM
Lazza Lazza is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 4,789
Default

Yep for PS2 X-Box the darker dye discs such as Ritek and Prodisc are much better for the laser to read.

Moving to the NEW media forum for you......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Offical PS2 Media Player Problems & Questions Thread Jaice Video Game Backup - PS2 296 Oct 31, 2004 07:04 AM
White Label Media DVD-R Playback Problems bono DVD 2 Jan 24, 2003 06:56 AM
MODS here is the FAQ for Xbox Media Player b6 that i promised. soner44 Video Game Backup - Xbox 7 Oct 23, 2002 03:09 AM
problems playing media with windows media player Eclipse1178 Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 May 30, 2002 02:31 PM
how good is dup-dvd for copying a dvd to a vcd??? skillz45 DVD 1 Apr 22, 2002 02:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright © 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved