CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Nov 23, 2003, 08:27 PM
jonno112 jonno112 is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 365
Default Cdrom hardware problem

sponsored links

 
Athlon 2600
Asus a7n8x - deluxe

I have just installed a cd rw into my new machine, the problem is that i keep getting this message in the properties of my CDRW in device drivers.

Windows successfully loaded the device driver for this hardware
but cannot find the hard ware device (code 41)


My DVD writer which is external is now recieving the same error this was working before i put the cdrw in.

Thanks
Jon

I have it hooked up to IDE2 as master

Last edited by jonno112; Nov 23, 2003 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Nov 23, 2003, 10:34 PM
C0UGAR UK C0UGAR UK is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 1,413
Default

How are all your IDE devices hooked up
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Nov 23, 2003, 10:41 PM
jonno112 jonno112 is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 365
Default

IDE 1
120gig HD master
80gig HD slave

Ide 2 CDRW master


I hope thats what you meant

Jonno
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Nov 23, 2003, 11:28 PM
Virgin San Virgin San is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne Aus
Posts: 1,327
Default

[url=***********.microsoft.com/technet/treeview/default.asp?url=/TechNet/prodtechnol/winxppro/reskit/prjk_dec_lgsc.asp]This from Microsoft might be helpful (eternal optimism)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Nov 23, 2003, 11:39 PM
jonno112 jonno112 is offline
suspended
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Australia
Posts: 365
Default

Gave that a try didn't really do much for the problem told me what i allready new.

Going to try a new driver.

The CDRW is recognised in the Bios thats gotta be good!

Jonno
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Nov 23, 2003, 11:41 PM
Virgin San Virgin San is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Melbourne Aus
Posts: 1,327
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by jonno112 [/i]
[B]
The CDRW is recognised in the Bios thats gotta be good!
[/B]
Getting the BIOS to play is the easy bit m8, getting Bill Gates' "brain"child to work is a whole different story!

Good luck with it
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is BIOS entry a must to install CDROM drive?. tovenkat Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 Jan 09, 2005 07:29 AM
-Hardware or Software Problem? "remove disks or other media. press any key to restart Dchikari Open to All Computer Related Topics 8 May 21, 2004 07:20 PM
DVD read problem on Win9X/ME machines duffy90210 DVD 3 Mar 26, 2003 11:30 PM
cdrom won't work [Packard Bell; Legend 102CD Supreme; win95a] Ang Hess Windows 95 1 Aug 02, 2002 12:52 AM
CDrom drive problem [Homebuild; PII350 128MB; win98] compbuild CD-R & CD-RW 1 Feb 02, 2002 12:13 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved