CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > DVD > DVD/CD Media Discussion
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Dec 05, 2003, 05:25 AM
whytey whytey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Scotland
Posts: 165
Question Are Datasafe DVDR made by Ritek? OK for Xbox?

sponsored links

 
Hi folks, quite new to DVDR media subject, so some guidance would be appreciated.

Just bought a load of backups to play on my xbox and was told that riteks are the best for using with xbox. The trader assured me that he would use ritek media.

The disks arrived on Datasafe x2 DVD-R (silver and white top). Cos I don't know much about them and they don't say ritek on the front of them, can someone tell me if they are riteks, or should I have a gripe?

Also, if anyone has experience with the xbox, will Datasafe's work well?


whytey
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Dec 05, 2003, 02:10 PM
p8ntballer p8ntballer is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 12
Default

Xbox's are pretty lenient on dvd media. I have a ton of backups on the white-top princos that were popular a while back and they still work fine. It's not a real high quality media but never had much trouble playing them.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Dec 05, 2003, 03:58 PM
jesterrace777 jesterrace777 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,344
Default

That's not true. It all depends on your individual DVD Drive and which of the 3 XBOX DVD Drives that you have. Philips and Thomson drives are known (in general) to be kind of picky about media, while the Samsung DVD Drive is reputed to read just about any piece of junk you throw at it (not to mention CD-Rs). Datasafe Riteks are supposed to be decent but I wouldn't touch thier Bulqpaq/Datawrite cousins with a 10 foot pole. The only way to tell is to try them out (since you already have them). Riteks are the best but I personally prefer Unbranded Ritek/Ridata over the Datasafe labels since they come straight from the factory. Traxdata are also an excellent choice.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Dec 07, 2003, 07:21 AM
nimbles nimbles is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,258
Default

I have to say i just bought a stack of datasafe ritek media, and they have been excellent- i was a little aprehensive about buying from the datsafe/datawrite/bulpaq brand but after a couple of views on here and on a couple of dvd poll tests, I went for it (also due to the fact that most other ritek 4x brands in the uk are either out of stock or significantly (10-20%) more expensive.

In the past i have used the datawrite riteks (think they were overprints probably), fws (which started of well but started to get a few power calibration erros as i got near the ned of the media), and the traxdata g04's which are always good but slightlt more expensive at the moment

getting back to your xbox question- as you can see from the brands i've used i only use ritek g04- have always burned at 4x and have not yet had one that didn't boot, and more to the point didn't boot signifcantly faster than a couple of back ups i bought of bst that were various brands of the princo 4x dye, before my pre burner days

if they are white witha silver band running through the middle then they should be ritek-

there is a program called dvdidentifier that lazza has kindly given a link to in the sticky at the top- if you download and install that you can allay your fears by sticking the disc in the dvdrom-drive and running that program- you are looking for the dye label ritek g03 if they are 1x-2x and ritek g04 if they are 4x media

Last edited by nimbles; Dec 07, 2003 at 07:38 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Dec 08, 2003, 04:50 AM
whytey whytey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Scotland
Posts: 165
Default

Cheers guys, much appreciated!!

My xbox plays cdr divx movies (I have it exploited) so I guess I've got a Samsung drive


whytey
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Dec 10, 2003, 02:10 PM
jesterrace777 jesterrace777 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 6,344
Default

There is one way to tell for sure. Eject the DVD tray and compare it with the following pic:

[img]***********.xboxforums.net/attachment.php?attachmentid=1384&stc=1[/img]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone Had Problems With Datasafe 4X Printable Disks By Ritek? STEFOR DVD 2 Feb 28, 2003 09:02 AM
made a dvdr using instantcopy, but it wont play in ps2? oosyadaddy2 DVD 10 Feb 20, 2003 01:48 PM
dvdr media freezes in dvdplayer 1hr into film what media doesnt do this with pioneer? knoplix DVD 0 Feb 06, 2003 07:13 AM
I made a multi dvdr and it dont boot! Meerdorf Video Game Backup - Xbox 10 Sep 10, 2002 11:23 AM
Hotshotsgolf.gi + primoDVD + DataSafe Gen 3 DVDR + NEO4 + DMC Original = :( The Ironduke Video Game Backup - PS2 0 Jul 27, 2002 11:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved