CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #13  
Old Dec 23, 2003, 11:42 AM
moddogs moddogs is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA USA
Posts: 1,221
Default

sponsored links

 
Try this diagram for the extra ground point:

***********.game-accessory.com/products/Parts/PPS2044B.htm
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Dec 23, 2003, 06:18 PM
barracuda barracuda is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Pa, USA
Posts: 1,023
Default

Quote:
[i]Originally posted by padawan [/i]
[B]I can't find that thread for anything man...I believe what they said the solution was, was to route a couple wires along the board's ground strip around the edge, but I know that doesn't help u much....sorry man.

As for ur amp, if you've got 12" subs, as in more than one, what wattage amp are u using? Seems to me that if ur powering two 12s, 8 guage is too thin, try 4 gauge and a shorter super clean ground and see if that helps...And yep, Sony head units, the xplod line sucks bad, they die they put out hardly any pre-amp out voltage, they just suck....Try a pioneer DEH-4600MP, still has low pre-amp out voltage but it's an overall better head unit that anything sony makes...I just got the DEH-P7500MP, wow what a head unit! [/B]

Yeah I got 2 - 12W1's, a set of MB Quart 5 1/4" components and a set of Sony 6" components.

I got 2 amps. The one powering the subs is ok, runs solid...Sony 1 ohm drive 90 RMS x 2 with built in crossovers. The subs are more than loud enough for me. I'd like to get a set of 3 - 10W6's or 8W6's one day[dreamin', dreamin', dreamin'](or the equivalent...think JL changed their model #'s)...run them 2 ohm for each channel...I'd like to reclaim my trunk. Digging out the spare tire when you get a flat sucks.

The amp powering the component sets is a Sony 45 RMS x 4...one set of outputs has a high pass/flat crossover, other set has a low pass(80Hz)/flat crossover. This one shuts down if I crank the volume too high...I think its because the Quarts are so efficient and suck down too much power on the one side of the amp. I like my highs so I'd like to get this fixed one day.

Both these amps have the standard screw-type connector for power, which sucks even to get 8 awg on there. I think I have a 4 awg cable coming from the battery to the trunk, then a splitter to 2 - 8 awg for power. Ground is 2 - 8 awg cables bolted to the frame in the trunk...the cable for the 1 ohm drive amp is about 1 - 1 1/2 feet, the other amp maybe 5 feet.

The deck was a refurb from the Sony outlet in Lancaster, PA...probably my own fault for buying a refurb from Sony...All sales final and they're guaranteed to break shortly after the 90 day warranty
The + and - buttons broke(lost their spring), so sometimes when the car vibrates a little the volume goes all the way up or all the way down...gotta do the scramble to turn it off before it blows the speakers. I just use the wired remote for turning it up/down. This is one of the older units before explod came out...those explods are so ugly I'd never buy one.

I'm going down to the outlets this weekend so maybe I'll get a new deck if they got something for around $50, sometimes they have brand new stuff that isn't selling well...those Sony connectors on back will make it a simple swap in. Other than that I really don't want to put any time/money into it...it really isn't worth it for my 94 Escort (aka, the Ebay Special)...thats right, I bought a car on Ebay! But it was only $740 and had minimal deer damage[even though it wears tires bad and the exhaust isn't connected]...lol the stereo equipment is probably worth more than the car. But someone rear-ended me a few weks ago so I should be getting about $400 for a scratched bumper, broken reflector thingys...life is good when your dad's a mechanic and is good at b!tchen out insurance companies.



Back to PS2, I haven't tried anything else with it yet...sick in bed all day with a fever...fever dreams are very very strange. Gonna try another power connection, doubt it will help.

Moddogs, I assume yours work fine for cd-r backups? ...no lockups or anything. I have heard stories that the Magic team leases their code to different manufacturers...maybe thats just the story the cloners stick to.

Gonna do some reading up at PS2news...if the original cd problem is normal, it'll be back to Messiah's or maybe DMS3's for me.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old Dec 23, 2003, 07:53 PM
padawan padawan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,503
Default

Wow that's a low-rent soldering install job....hope that's not urs moddogs and i'm insulting u, sorry but that soldering stinks...

'Cuda, if u need to, get a distribution block and run 4 gauge from the batt and then 8 gauge to each amp...Although those 2 amps ur using now should run fine off of 8 guage....

I don't have problems with original blue bottom cds on magic 5, maybe the chips u got really are clones...tell ya what, for $12 a pop, the magic 5 is a far better value than m2 or dms3, magic 5 does the same thing the others do, direct boot backups...Guess this is just like the magic 3.1 problems so many had, some people were getting clones, clones suck, besides that HK messiah i've never seen a clone perform exactly like the real thing from any manufacturer, but maybe that's just me, well good luck and hope u feel better!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old Dec 23, 2003, 09:57 PM
barracuda barracuda is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Pa, USA
Posts: 1,023
Default

Installed the extra power wire...no luck. Returning them.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old Dec 23, 2003, 10:21 PM
moddogs moddogs is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: SF Bay Area, CA USA
Posts: 1,221
Default

No, that is not my soldering job! lol.

barracuda, all media work great except original US and jap blue bottom discs. I never get a garbled logo. /But I do sometimes get the off-air TV broadcast lines.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old Dec 23, 2003, 10:58 PM
padawan padawan is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 1,503
Default

LOL, i knew it wasn't ur soldering, whew!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who has Messiah 2 or Magic V 50K? JonnyJP Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Apr 01, 2004 04:57 AM
Team Magic to release Magic V padawan Video Game Backup - PS2 21 Aug 17, 2003 06:59 PM
Did Magic 3.1 fix booting CD problems? matt_machin Video Game Backup - PS2 4 Mar 06, 2003 11:08 AM
WEIRD!! magic 3.1 problems LynkenPark Video Game Backup - PS2 12 Mar 02, 2003 11:00 AM
Magic 2 for PS2 version 4 - Anyone have problems or sucess? billmill PS2 Modchip Help & Installation 8 Oct 19, 2002 07:46 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved