CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 02, 2004, 07:32 PM
NickiSixx NickiSixx is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 852
Default 2 questions about WINXP Pro and hard drives

sponsored links

 
I just got this old PC to use that I decided to use as just a download machine - this way it frees up my main PC to play games, etc. This 2nd PC is an AMD K6 500mhz with a 16mb voodoo card and 256mb of RAM (i told you it was old ). I was going to install another 128mb stick of RAM but not sure if it's going to help the issue. I am using Windows XP Pro.

#1 - i installed a 40gb hard drive - and it is only being read at about 30gb - maybe a little less.....How can I change this to see all of it?

#2 (and more importantly) - I installed a 160GB WD hard drive to store all my DLs and shared files.....explorer SEES the drive (it says F: ) - however, when i click on it to browse it - it gives me an error about some timeout (sorry, if this doesnt help - i forgot what it said - i never saw it b4). And it just doesnt let me browse it at all.


I was going to install WINME instead (hopefully networking the PC will still be easy) - but didnt know if that would help. I know with my main PC winxp hangs up when it reads that drive because its full - and i have a P4 3.06ghz with 1gb of DDR333 RAM. So, i can only imagine the poor 500mhz AMD cpu lol. But i dont know if that is the same issue.

please help. thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Feb 02, 2004, 07:46 PM
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 5,746
Default

More ram certainly would help. A maximum probably of 512 on your system.

A 40 gb drive won't show up as 40 because drive manufacturers and the operating system treat a KB as 10000 and 1024 bytes, so when you format you generally lose about 8-10% of the total capacity.

When you say "it is only being read at about 30GB", what and where do you mean?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Feb 02, 2004, 08:00 PM
steve54 steve54 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 551
Default

have you formatted the 160 gig h drive so as your op sys recognises it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Feb 02, 2004, 08:28 PM
NickiSixx NickiSixx is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 852
Default

Insomniac, I would increase the RAM to that much if i could, but it the mobo o nly takes up to 384mb of RAm. And I know that the 40GB wont be exactly 40 gb - but it shows up as just less than 30GB. I already have a 30gb in there - and the 40gb shows up as just a few more MBs more than what the 30gb shows up as.

Steve54 - the drive is formatted - it was in my old PC and has my DLs on it (i mentioned that it was pretty full and that my main pc sometimes takes a bit to display the full contents (theres between 1-4 GBs free)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Feb 02, 2004, 11:33 PM
NickiSixx NickiSixx is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 852
Default

anyone?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Feb 03, 2004, 01:39 AM
Stryker_PornStar Stryker_PornStar is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Illinois
Posts: 516
Default

Your motherboard, being that it is old, probably won't support anything over 30gig. Unless you flash your bios, there really isn't anything you can do about it.

BTW, Motley Crue use to be one of my favorite band. GIRLS GIRLS GIRLS!!! ONCE BITTEN TWICE SHY BABY!

Sorry, every once in awhile I have an 80's flashback. I'm ok now.

Last edited by Stryker_PornStar; Feb 03, 2004 at 02:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is there a lof diff between 7200 and 5400 rpm hard drives? stepp Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Nov 01, 2003 12:16 PM
switching hard drives - linux newbie IceFX Open to All Computer Related Topics 1 Aug 18, 2003 03:04 PM
Gear Pro Pro ed V6.03 kingrag DVD 0 Jun 13, 2003 05:16 AM
adding a second slave hard drive using WinXP [; ; winXP] dark_camel Windows XP 1 Nov 15, 2002 07:33 AM
2 hard drives. 1 is FAT32 and 1 is NTSF freakit Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 Sep 17, 2002 08:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:28 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved