CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Feb 13, 2004, 02:16 PM
wozser wozser is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: birmingham, u.k
Posts: 243
Default Really weird network problems! Pls help

sponsored links

 
Ok i'm on a network in my house. There is a telewest modem connected to a router that has two of my house mates downstairs connected. This is connected to a hub upstairs which has me and two other housemates on it.
I along with most of the others are using windows XP.

There are several problems though i imagine they're related:

Everyone in the houses connection works fine except mine. I can see everyone else on the network but when I try to copy off anyone it goes at a ridiculously slow speed (about 5kbps is my guess) but when the others copy off me it seems fine.

I can download at normal speeds from the internet and the connection with the internet seems fine (if not a little slower than the others) now but before when i was connected directly to the router it was very very slow.

When I play wolfenstein ET (a fun game that i've got into recently) I get a server disconnected message every 15 mins or so. My housemate who has exactly the same game (as in he DLed it from my computer) has no problems whatsoever. My ping in the game is very low though even at the point i get disconnected for 'unknown reason'.

So far I have tried updating windows XP, updating all drivers for all devices, swapping network cards and for wolfenstein reinstalling the game.
All of this has had no affect. Interestingly though I also tried swapping the cables for the hub to the router with the cable from the hub to me. Oddly everyone elses internet connection remained the same but mine became slower!!!??? makes no sense if you think about the cables that were swapped as if my individual cable had been faulty then everyone's connection should be slow.
  #2  
Old Feb 13, 2004, 02:43 PM
nimbles nimbles is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,258
Default

would you by any chance be running norton antivirus/systemworks 2002?

If so i may have the solution?

Quote:
Solution:
After a productive session with MS, it turns out that Norton AntiVirus 2002 was the culprit.
Antivirus 2002 adds a registry value that prevents shared access.

Here's what worked for me...

-->CAUTION: YMMV: backup this registry key; create a restore point (XP pro)<--

You need to edit the registry to fix this. The registry entry is:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\LanmanServer\Parameters]

You'll see a value called:

IRPstackSize

It will be set to some value between 4 - 12 (in decimal) usually. Edit the IRPstackSize key and delete the numeric VALUE (not the key).

Now all is well
  #3  
Old Feb 13, 2004, 10:13 PM
cloudx cloudx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 212
Default

Have you tried swapping the NIC card also? I have had those problems with NICS in the past. You could try changing the media type for the NIC from AUTO to 100 full or half to see if that helps. Also, if you have systemworks 2002, uninstall it. It does more damage than good. Stick with just their antivirus products. IMO.
  #4  
Old Feb 14, 2004, 11:43 AM
wozser wozser is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: birmingham, u.k
Posts: 243
Default

not using any of the programs mentioned. I use zone alarm but it's the same wether it's on or off.
Think it might have something to do with the length of the cable. It sounds weird but it's the only thing i can think. Maybe the signals very weak and some packets are getting lost. Not sure if this is even possible though I'll do a few tests.
  #5  
Old Feb 14, 2004, 01:59 PM
cloudx cloudx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 212
Default

CAT5 ethernet can go 300ft without attenuation. i highly doubt it is the length unless you are exceeding that.
  #6  
Old Feb 18, 2004, 01:51 PM
nimbles nimbles is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,258
Default

ok i think i may know what it is:

try this:

***********.tweakxp.com/display.aspx?id=1557

of course back up your registry blah blah blah, you are responsible if things go pear shaped.

Last edited by nimbles; Feb 18, 2004 at 01:59 PM.
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with using HyperTerm with a Cisco 2610. Nothing pops up. New to this pls hlp Slash1 Open to All Computer Related Topics 0 May 11, 2004 02:32 PM
Problems Networking my laptop to my home network!!! MaDasHell Computer Networking & Security 0 Mar 14, 2004 07:32 AM
Anyone else have these weird problems with their demo cds?? Xcubetion Video Game Backup - Xbox 3 Aug 14, 2002 02:13 PM
Are there any known problems with Real One Player? Network RealOne? BRUINSrock Device Driver Questions 0 Aug 07, 2002 05:39 PM
Problems with CDRECORD - help needed pls!! geohound Dreamcast 10 Feb 19, 2002 12:18 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:27 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved