CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > DVD
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Feb 15, 2004, 10:19 AM
handyguy handyguy is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Monterey, Calif
Posts: 9,647
Default

sponsored links

 
dma mode can only be activated if the units support it.
  #8  
Old Feb 15, 2004, 10:42 AM
rushlight69 rushlight69 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: ireland
Posts: 1,106
Default

Handyguy how do i find out,although i'm able to activate it on the liteon 52x....btw geodon tried ur way still won't change.

Last edited by rushlight69; Feb 15, 2004 at 10:58 AM.
  #9  
Old Feb 15, 2004, 03:17 PM
geobon geobon is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 1,758
Default

You don't have to find out just ask and 99% of peeps will tell you, In fact i don't know what handyguy's on about myself as ive never heard of a DVDrom or DVDwriter that dosen't support DMA mode as this is the recommended settings. But anyhow ask someone that runs win98 as it may be down to it not supporting the 106 thats if anyone still uses it as most peeps i know use the ntfs file system ie win2k/XP when running DVDwriters.
  #10  
Old Feb 15, 2004, 04:38 PM
PhilEnfield PhilEnfield is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,925
Default

From the info you have provided, I noticed that your Hard Drive is not set to DMA either, which will double your problems.

As you have successfully enabled DMA on the 52x liteon, which is the second device on your Secondary IDE Channel, there has to be a problem with your settings somewhere.
I am wondering if this may be a BIOS issue.

Have a look in your BIOS and see if the devices in your IDE channels are set to LBA. If you find that only the second device on your Secondary IDE Channel (i.e. the 52x liteon) is set to LBA, this may explain things.
If this turns out to be so, try setting them all to LBA and see what happens.
  #11  
Old Feb 15, 2004, 05:56 PM
rushlight69 rushlight69 is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: ireland
Posts: 1,106
Default

Thanks for the replies m8s..i'll check the the bios or will get someone else to do it as i'm not to familiar with it.

{Put the lite-on as slave on the primary IDE channel along with the HDDand leave the pioneer as master on the secondry) tried that geobon but but did'nt work.


I must say it's been a pleasure posting here,i really do appreicate the help i've been given.

Last edited by rushlight69; Feb 15, 2004 at 06:03 PM.
  #12  
Old Feb 16, 2004, 05:04 AM
PhilEnfield PhilEnfield is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,925
Default

Good News !! ..... I just found this on another forum, which seems to describe your problem, together with the solution. From your log, it seems as though you have the buggy version (4.10.2222) :

"Good news and bad news for Win98SE users ........Bad news is that I found through some trial and error that the protected-mode driver 98SE uses for its HDDs can't handle DMA, even if you set the drives to use DMA through the Device Manager properties ....instead it will simply revert back to PIO ......Good news is to replace the driver: esdi_506.pdr

.....If you're using the earlier version of the driver (version 4.10.1998) found in Win98 (not 98SE), there isn't a problem ....the buggy version is 4.10.2222 ........you can use the earlier version in 98SE to fix it, but there's a better solution _:yes:

.....There is an MS update for large IDE drives which removes another limitation in both of the earlier versions, the limitation that the disk utils (scandisk and defrag) have with drives larger than 32G .....the update is 243450USA8.EXE (********download.microsoft.com/download/win98SE/Update/5638-6151/W98/EN-US/243450USA8.EXE), which has two different updated files. one for 98 (version 4.10.2186) and one for 98SE (version 4.10.2225) .....This updated file for 98SE seems to correct the DMA limitation as well as the large drive limitation"

HTH
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how do i check my 3d video card?? crobb Open to All Computer Related Topics 6 Dec 22, 2011 01:27 AM
Ultra DMA mode 2 changes back to PIO only why? madog30 DVD 16 Nov 10, 2003 09:14 AM
MY cd writer won't go into DMA mode, can I force it some how? bnbhoha Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 May 15, 2003 01:59 PM
DMA to PIO Mode Why?????? roman-28 Open to All Computer Related Topics 9 Dec 16, 2002 03:53 AM
WinXP : Dvd-Rom changed from DMA to PIO Mode. Stuck! Help! thebigbeef CD-R & CD-RW 8 Oct 21, 2002 04:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved