CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics > Computer Networking & Security
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #7  
Old Feb 18, 2004, 02:49 PM
nimbles nimbles is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,258
Default

sponsored links

 
well it was what caused me not being able to share stuff over the network
  #8  
Old Feb 18, 2004, 02:55 PM
cloudx cloudx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 212
Default

yeah xp is wierd when it is not connected to a domain. the firewall just opens and closes ports. in your case, it may have set permissions when disabling it because likes to run its own wizard anything binded to the nic is changed.
  #9  
Old Feb 18, 2004, 03:05 PM
gratefulme gratefulme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 76
Default

OK guys, My xp firewall is not connected. My workgroup is named mshome (I guess that happened when I tried to use the network connection wizard. When I type \\mshome I get this message: Windows can not find "mshome'. check the spelling and try again, oror try searching for the item by clicking the start button and then clicking search.
  #10  
Old Feb 18, 2004, 03:13 PM
gratefulme gratefulme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 76
Default

By the way, I can't figure out on the laptop(win me) how to check the workgroup name. it's not under system in the control panel. I just assumed it was the same because thats what I told the network connection to make it.
  #11  
Old Feb 18, 2004, 03:32 PM
cloudx cloudx is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 212
Default

mshome is the name of the workgroup not the computer name. syntax would be \\computername . In XP you can get the computer name by going to system and then computer name tab. you will see the workgroup in there also. For ME you can just right click the network neighborhood icon on the desktop and hit properties. There should be an identification tab.
  #12  
Old Feb 18, 2004, 04:02 PM
gratefulme gratefulme is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 76
Default

This is so sad it's almost funny.My computers are named desktop, and laptop. When I type \\laptop I get: the file \\laptop can not be found. Please check the location and try again.

BUT if I type (on my laptop) \\desktop I get a screen with two icons One says printer the other says shared docs. Now for the kicker: If I click on shared docs I get to another screen with an icon that says shortcut to HP_Pavilion (C)(my desktop.) So I'm thinking I'm in hog heavon. I click on the HP icon and what do I get? My compaq laptop (c) drive. Why would the icon have my desktop name, but my laptop :C drive?
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ASPI File Problem Ballisticbane Open to All Computer Related Topics 7 Jul 26, 2003 01:35 AM
Problem with burning a mp3 file to a audio cd jokerr12 Audio CDs & MP3 3 Nov 11, 2002 03:18 PM
Help:Nero stopped working with fast CDRWs and XP PeteTh CD-R & CD-RW 2 Jul 14, 2002 09:18 AM
selfboot to non-selfboot, how? dongato Dreamcast 14 Feb 11, 2002 05:17 PM
A problem with my CD writer not solved by anything in the FAQ, help needed! [Me; ; winME] buckles983 CD-R & CD-RW 3 Feb 03, 2002 05:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved