CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Mar 14, 2004, 07:10 PM
Bluedragon Bluedragon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: providence, RI, usa
Posts: 205
Default why do mod chips use 30 gauge wire?

sponsored links

 
I was wondering why do mod chips use 30 gauge wire, and also since I bought the wire I was wondering should the 30 gauge wire be stranded or solid? I ended up buying a solid wire.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Mar 14, 2004, 10:22 PM
barracuda barracuda is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Pa, USA
Posts: 1,023
Default

Its pretty much the standard for chip installs. Strong, good conductance and easy to work with. You can use thicker but it would be harder to use. Thinner and it may not conduct the signal good enough.

Solid wire is what you want although stranded will work too. But with stranded wire you can accidentally cause a short if one of the strands is free and connects with other contacts(points).
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Mar 14, 2004, 10:26 PM
Bluedragon Bluedragon is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: providence, RI, usa
Posts: 205
Default

Ok just wondering. Thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Mar 16, 2004, 10:59 PM
huong23 huong23 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 385
Default

I'm a newbie at this, so the 30gauge wire is used for grounding. I assume that when you buy a modchip, it only comes w/ the chip in the package, w/o wires right? Where can you buy a 30 gauge wire anyways?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Mar 17, 2004, 09:02 PM
barracuda barracuda is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Pa, USA
Posts: 1,023
Default

You want to use the 30 gauge for all the data signal connections(ie. everything but power and ground).
Use 24 - 26 gauge for power/ground.

Also, some data signals are prone to noise. You want to keep those connections short or use a twisted pair. A twisted pair is 2 wires twisted together where 1 wire is used for the actual connection and the other is just grounded at both ends.
Some signals like that are: Clk on Messiah 2, D & E on DMS3, R on Magic 3.x, DUO, Apple, etc.
You just have to search around once you know what chip you are installing.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Mar 17, 2004, 11:17 PM
NTMH NTMH is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: chicago, IL USA
Posts: 17
Default

You could use even thinner wire for data connections, say up to 36 gauge but 30 gauge is small enough to solder to the small pins of a ps2 bios and cd/dvd controller chip.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Would 28 gauge wire be too big for Messiah2 chip PS2? Virgintamr Video Game Backup - PS2 3 Dec 30, 2002 07:56 PM
The latest news on modchips for your PS2... CousinFizz Video Game Backup - PS2 11 Nov 28, 2002 01:49 AM
mod chips maxwell_alan Video Game Backup - Xbox 2 Jul 19, 2002 01:45 PM
1 Wire Mod? Surely not...? read in Meerdorf Video Game Backup - Xbox 13 Jun 27, 2002 11:21 AM
No SOlder MOD CHIPS for sale VERY CHEAP PIEMAN1013 Video Game Backup - PS2 2 May 16, 2002 10:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:21 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved