CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Video Game Backup - PS2 > PS2 Modchip Help & Installation
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  

Old Aug 10, 2004, 06:44 AM

Angry Don' buy from modchipstore.com!!

sponsored links

I'm a newbie at PS2 modding, maybe you guys can help:

Ordered a Magic 3.1 from modchipstore.com, but what I received does not seem to be a Magic 3.1 !!!! It only has 17 solder points (A, B, I, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S, T, U, V, Z, RST, PWR, GND). For what I've seen, this looks like a Duo or Duo2 chip. What really sucks is that the PCB says "Magic 3.1+ autodetect V0-V8" and the IC has a cheesy "V0-V8" sticker covering a Ubicom chip (which I hear is 100% give-a-way that the chip is a fake). I think I got ripped off!!!!!!

My question is, If I can't return the modchip, is it worth it to try and install and use, and is a Duo better than a Magic3.1?? I have a v4 PS2 (SCPH-35001, GT3 version) and I just replaced the laser so It reads all discs, even DVD+R

thx,
-jg
Old Aug 10, 2004, 03:57 PM
Veteran

Not only is it a fake Magic, it's a fake Duo as well. What I mean is it seems you got one of the cheap Duo clones, with a Magic 3 sticker on it. Does it look like any of these? ********duomodchip.com/english/warning.htm I would not install it if I were you, the clone Duos (and Magic for that matter) have been known to cause many problems, you could be sacrificing your system. It looks like that site you bought from is not in the States? There are many good options in the States (assuming that's where you are based on your model number) and in Canada that you can purchase from. You can try to get a refund, but I would imagine that will be next to impossible.
And to answer another question, yes, the (real) Duo is better than the (real) Magic 3.1.
Old Aug 10, 2004, 11:07 PM

thx madison,