CDROM-Guide forums

Go Back   CDROM-Guide forums > Main Forums > Open to All Computer Related Topics
FAQ Calendar Mark Forums Read
Open   CSec   Data   DevDrv   CoOp   Audio   CDRW   CDG   VCD   DVD   HD DVD   Mac   VGB   PS2   DC   Xbox  


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #13  
Old Apr 15, 2005, 08:13 AM
85BJ60 85BJ60 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: canadian
Posts: 101
Default

sponsored links

 
default doesn't work either, s**t! do i make a backup and install new HD and re-install windows and etc..,?
85BJ60
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old Apr 15, 2005, 11:43 AM
AcidBath AcidBath is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 326
Default

Does your computer work OK without the new drive added? Does it only stop working when you add our new drive as slave?
When you say it dose not work... do you mean it does not detect the drive, Windows crashes out, what?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old Apr 15, 2005, 12:30 PM
85BJ60 85BJ60 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: canadian
Posts: 101
Unhappy

it doesn't detect it. the windows black screen comes on asking in which mode you want to start, safe, previous and you have 30sec to make-up your mind and then it restarts itself and the black screen comes back. what i've noticed is the original HD is detected as the slave and there is no master.
85BJ60
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old Apr 15, 2005, 03:18 PM
Insomniac Insomniac is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sydney, Australia. Where else would you want to live?
Posts: 5,746
Default

85BJ60 you are creating your own nightmare.

To reiterate what I already said, just use the new drive only for now as a Master on the Primary Controller, make sure it's detected and displayed in the Bios and that's it.

Once Windows is installed you can add the other drives or whatever you want.

All you are doing by adding another drive now and flashing the Bios is setting an environment for failure.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old Apr 15, 2005, 04:19 PM
85BJ60 85BJ60 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: canadian
Posts: 101
Default

from what i read & doing in the western HD manual, nothing seems to work! if i go about installing my new HD only, how do i go about transferring the other HD onto it???????? what i really want to do is have my new HD have all the programs on it sauf(except) windows which i want to leave on the original HD!
tia,
85BJ60
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old Apr 15, 2005, 05:00 PM
Nuttapper Nuttapper is offline
Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Great Britain
Posts: 2,253
Default

Hi Guys, sorry to jump in, you need to ensure the drives are pinned up correctly first.

[URL=********wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=113&p_sid=Ycy-D1Dh&p_lva=1151&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX 2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX3Jvd19jbnQ9NCZwX3NlYXJjaF90eXB%3Cb r+%2F%3ElPXNlYXJjaF9mbmwmcF9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfd GV4dD1jbG9uZSB0b29s&p_li=#]HOW TO PIN THE DRIVE

Next you can download the WD cloning tool [URL=********wdc.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/wdc.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=1151&p_created=1072804900&p_si d=hyo7IeAh&p_lva=&%20p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5 PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX3Jvd19jbnQ9NCZwX3NlYXJjaF90eX B<br%20/>lPXNlYXJjaF9mbmwmcF9wYWdlPTEmcF9zZWFyY2hfdGV4dD1j bG9uZSB0b29s&p_li=]HERE

Or just obtain a clone program such as Nortons ghost

As inso has told you, install the WD on its own as a master, Fdisk it and format it, or just install windows on it, I would recommend Win 2000 with your specs and not Xp, What OS are you presently running BTW ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem burning .nrg image file - help please! [; ; winXP] Joe224 CD-R & CD-RW 2 Sep 26, 2002 05:23 AM
Web browsing problem LuckIrv Open to All Computer Related Topics 4 Sep 25, 2002 04:14 PM
upgrade 2.2 v4 for DVD-R - unique problem? dpatho Video Game Backup - PS2 1 Sep 24, 2002 09:55 PM
Official Windows XP SP1 Download Here!!! Badidoh Open to All Computer Related Topics 26 Sep 15, 2002 06:06 PM
Strange Yamaha 4416s CD Burner Problem [; ; win98SE] schu CD-R & CD-RW 4 Jan 28, 2002 11:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 1996-2009 CDROM-Guide.com. All rights reserved